IVF Consult

I’d like to start tracking our journey by starting with the (in)fertility consult appointment. I say “(in)fertility” because I get lumped into needing infertility treatment but as far as testing shows, my eggs are fine, my uterus is fine; just my ovaries have turned to the dark side. Endometriosis. Ugh. So as far as I am concerned, I’m fertile.
Our consult appointment was on Nov. 26. The consult went as we expected, the RE told us since I have stage IV endo, we will get the most success with least $, and time going this route. I hated hearing that, but only four months after my surgery last year I already had two cysts, one on each ovary. Waiting for my body to just work isn’t practical unless I want to risk the endo taking over my body again, risking it moving into my uterus or other areas of my body. No thanks.
The RE seems cool. His baby was through ivf, and he’s successfully done many many many cycles of ivf. He said since I’ve been on the depo, we can just get started right away to have the best chance at success. It’d be nice to plan around summer break, being a teacher, but my body isn’t wanting to cooperate with that. Building our family is just more important to me right now. We recently had a traumatic journey showing me once again how precious family and time truly are. I’m referring to my brother in law who has a traumatic brain injury from a car accident in June. [For that story, check out our other blog Pray for Ray.] There’s no time like the present.
So from here we schedule a training with a nurse to go over how ivf works, the financial piece and the schedule of the treatment.

K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in IVF and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

