Nurse IVF Teaching…or rather, discussion.

After the consult, we had a few talks about $ and how we will pay for our baby wish. We didn’t come up with any definites except that we really want to do this and waiting won’t make it easier. So, we are moving forward on this. Where there’s a will, there’s a way.
We went in for our nurse teaching on Dec. 6. It wasn’t as in depth as I expected. She went over the process, what happens when. The way it works is I’ll go on three weeks of bcp’s. During that time I’ll have another HSG (I had one about a year ago during my lapro and at that time my uterus looked fine and one tube was partially blocked but opened when the dye passed through it) to be sure the catheter used for inserting the embryos can make it’s way to the destination during operation ivf baby. This also shows if my uterine lining is fit to maintain an embryo. After that I’ll start Follistim and HCG for 11 days. These drugs are to stimulate the ovaries to produce mature eggs. The goal is to get as many as possible, but within reason to keep me safe since this is an ART, fine tuning the meds to not cause ovarian hyperstimulation. We haven’t received the training on these yet, but I’m pretty sure they are shots I have to give myself. My sweet husband has offered to assist even though it totally freaks him out. Lol. πŸ™‚ During the time of these shots, I’ll need three ultrasound appointments to check how the eggs are maturing, to keep the growth under control.
The next step would be to retrieve the eggs. This involves surgery and a trigger shot. Sounds crazy I know. This phase can be touchy because some women can get 25-30 eggs ready to be retrieved. Ouch!
Then they let the eggs that are healthy (hopefully 6-10) do their thang with the sperm. Bow chica wow wow. About 5 days later they insert 1-2 eggs into the uterus. If everything goes well, poof-ivf baby-or babies if we are lucky πŸ˜‰

May the force be with us.
K

Click here for a link on official language for ivf process steps.

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 7 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turned 3 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in IVF and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

