Trial Transfer Success

Does anyone else feel like their journey to parenthood feels like scaling these mountains?

Does anyone else feel like their journey to parenthood feels like scaling these mountains?

Warning-I talk about my uterus a lot in this post. LOL. 

Having time off from work is the second best benefit of teaching.  (no. 1 is when I get to impact a life in a positive way…and seeing the light bulbs go on!)  It is nice getting some of these appointments out of the way during my break.

So, the appointment was the same and different from what I expected.  I expected a full HSG like I’ve had in the past.  You know, you go to the outpatient part of the hospital, get a pretty bracelet and a beautiful green gown.  Luckily, since this costs so much (no lol there), I get to do these things in the comfort of my RE’s office.

Here’s how my trial transfer went down (modified of course).  The doctor and nurse practitioner came in and the procedure really only took a few minutes.  They feed the catheter through, as a trial, to be sure when they do the same with the embryo catheter that it’ll go through without fuss.  Dye is inserted into your uterus (this is the HSG part) and the doc is able to see if you have any abnormal shenanigans going on in your uterus or ovaries that need to be taken care of before beginning ivf.  For example, cysts.  I still have the cyst on my right ovary, but doc says it is no problem to work around it because it’s a chocolate cyst (endometrioma).  If it was a cyst that loves estrogen, they would have to drain it before they could let me start my injections because the cyst would hog the meds.  It kind of reminds me of that scene in Knocked Up when the geeky girl with glasses snorts and says something like “doesn’t it make you angry when the baby steals your food?” lol. As I thought, my uterus is all good to proceed. 🙂

For me, the dye, or something about this procedure gives me cramping.  I’ve had mild cramping for most of the day since.  I took some Motrin before the procedure as a preventative measure because last time I had an HSG I had mega cramping.

The highlight of the procedure today was seeing the catheter in my uterus on the ultrasound monitor.  Wow.  I saw the water the doc fed through the catheter dripping into my uterus and it was awesome because next time, that’ll be my babies. 🙂  I hope with all my heart that they will stick.

Stay tuned.  Next post – baseline ultrasound update.  That appointment is set for Monday.

Let the journey commence!

Here’s to an awesome 2013,                                                                                                                  K

 

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in IVF and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trial Transfer Success

  1. Cheryl says:

    You have been training for this climb your whole life and now you have a strong partner who can support you as you prepare for this climb. Perfect analogy K. You are both preparing to climb your first mountain. You’ve done the research and learned everything there is to know and you both have decided to accept this challenge together. I picture you both hooked together climbing that mountain and planning your next move as you get closer to making your dream a reality!

    • K says:

      Thanks Ma. I have been blessed to have such a great partner, but also for my amazing parents. You helped me be the strong woman I am today. 🙂 Thanks for always supporting me-us.

  2. Tabatha says:

    Just wanted to be the first one to say that I’m excited for 2013 for you guys & operation ivf baby brown. If I can do ANYTHING to help you know I would! Hope you have a happy & healthy new year!!

Thoughts?

