Needles are not so scary after all

Night one of injections went okay.  Looking for my redo on day 2 though. lol.  I watched the Follistim video on youtube again, along with a few other videos that regular people have posted showing them giving themselves the injections.  Watching the other people do it made me feel better interestingly.  I was still extremely nervous and so I went sooooooo slow with the hcg needle.  I actually had a panic moment where I restabbed myself because I didn’t think I was in the right “zone”.  I could feel like medication go in, and a small bump appeared immediately.  Neither were uncomfortable though, and the bump went away within about 15 minutes.  The Follistim Pen went in easily, and I couldn’t even feel it.  Winding the dial down though to inject was odd for me because the dial spins and it’s difficult to hold the pen still at the same time.  The Follistim stung for a little bit after the injection, and the site was tender for maybe 15 minutes.  The needles left little bumps in my skin that are gone now.  Otherwise, no bleeding, no crying, no weird after affects.  But, I forgot to hold the Follistim needle in for the 5 seconds. Sigh.  No biggie, but I’ll be sure to remember from this point forward. 🙂

I feel okay today.  Although, those of you with endo will get this, I had that unbearable pressure on my bowel today.  Going to the bathroom helped relieve it.  I have weird displaced gas pain in my shoulder right now.  Yep, I’m strange. lol.

This part is for those of you who have or are going through ivf injections now…when did you restrain from making whoopie?  (sorry, I have to say it like that lol)  The ivf nurse said it was okay towards the beginning of injections, but later to be careful because your ovary can very easily become twisted.  So, what’s the word on this?K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 7 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turned 3 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in IVF and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Needles are not so scary after all

  1. Tabatha says:

    K I feel ya in the gas pain, and all the other endo “weirdness” hope all continues to go well. You know if I were closer I wouldn’t mind sticking you with a needle everyday 😉 😉

    Love ya

  2. KS says:

    Started my follistim on Jan 1 and its a little painful when the meds go in. My RE didn’t say anything about withholding from intercourse but a twisted ovary is not good- so maybe I shouldn’t???!!! I also have trapped gas pain high in my mid section right under my breasts and around to my back. It’s gotten a lot better these last couple days. When’s your scan? I’m on Jan 9th!

  3. K says:

    KS-I have three scans this week. Monday, Wed, Fri. I think it’s because my RE starts patients out on a minimal dose and then increases or decreases as needed. I also have to have blood work each time. 😦 So, my first one is actually tomorrow. 🙂 I’m excited because I am paranoid that my ovaries are growing too fast. lol-watch, they will be barely any larger. I hope this week goes by fast!

    • KS says:

      I also think mine are moving along too fast as well. I’ve come to know when I’m going to O really well and all the signs are there. So I’m calling first thing in the morning!

Thoughts?

