KZilla

This is how I feel sometimes

This is how I feel sometimes

Thursday, Friday, Saturday…Saturday was my third night of injections.  I thought it’d get easier each time, but I’m finding that to be not so.  Last night the HCG needle did NOT want to go in, and I had this moment of panic thinking “what am I going to do if it doesn’t cooperate?”.  Thinking about the needle made me nauseous and dizzy.  It went in, but it hurt.  We also figured out that what looked like an air bubble in the syringe the night before was indeed, so I only got .1 of the hcg instead of the .2.  This isn’t a huge deal, but it could be.  I have to laugh though and think that it really cannot be such a big deal or they would have given me a pen type device like the Follistim.  They have to know that us regular folk don’t really know much about needles.  I’m sorry, but I don’t have ANY experience with this stuff and you give me this HUGE responsibility.  I would make a terrible druggie.  I guess that’s a good thing.

I’m beginning to have pain in my left ovary, but that’s the evil side and it was giving me grief before the start of this process.  The U/S hadn’t shown anything on that side so I can only panic about why it hurts.  It’s probably just scar tissue from my surgery or the cysts that vanished recently.  We will see tomorrow at my first U/S to monitor these injections.

I’m also beginning to experience the lovely irritability that comes along with injecting yourself with hormone filled needles because your body strongly dislikes working as it should,  and the emotional hurricane that comes along with overloading your body with hormones!  T is helping me to regulate the storm by watching movies with me and going for walks.  The exercise does help release the good mood hormones, so I feel it’s a positive thing to keep doing.  I wish I could go for a run but I’m afraid of flipping my ovary.

Tomorrow is back to work after a two week holiday.  I think that’s part of the grumpiness.  I hope my students can use their manners and be cooperative this month.  Being a teacher is ridiculously stressful, just an fyi.  I work with 12 yr olds and we all know, they have their own hormonal problems.

K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 7 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turned 3 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in IVF and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to KZilla

  1. I’ve been having pain near my right (bad) ovary (a pain I’ve had for quite awhile, anyway) and have been having some nasty gas pain……and I am still just on my Lupron – the ovulation suppresor. It is crazy, but I thought almost the same exact thoughts you had. We are physically making our bodies do something they don’t want to do – so I guess there will be some side effects because of that. I literally told my husband that right before we started the process. Never thought about it – but that is what we are doing. Forcing our bodies to do something they don’t want to do. I can’t imagine the fun I am going to have at the end of the week, when I start injecting myself with my Follistim. From what the nurse said at my last appointment in late December, I will have to do my shots of Follistim, an hCG shot (I think, is what it is called), AND a lower dose of my Lupron (to hold off ovulation until egg retrieval day), as well. So…….THAT should be fun (said sarcastically). Good luck to you, girl! I really hope that our dreams come true in 2013! 🙂

Thoughts?

