Day 5 of injections – Check Up Time

I’m procrastinating.  I should be grading test corrections, but I don’t feel like it.  This is why I accept late work from my students, because I understand their dilemma.  Fart around on the Internet, watch tv, or do homework.  Tough call. 😉

Love in the clouds.  Pic by K

Love in the clouds.
Pic by K

I have to share an error I made this weekend.  This is embarrassing, but I’ve already shared worse information.  Don’t judge!  I misread my medication schedule and continued giving myself the 225IU of Follistim Saturday night when I was supposed to switch to 150IU.  I looked at that schedule at least 10 times and I never noticed the change.  Luckily, I caught it Sunday morning and was able to begin the 150IU Sunday night.  I had my checkup U/S and BW today and the nurse said it isn’t a big deal, just continue with my scheduled 150IU.  Phew!  It took a lot of positive to not break down about it.  Unless you are in my shoes, you might not really understand why I’d be so emotional about this.  First, this medication is expensive and I only have a certain amount.  There is no room for overusing or wasting.  Second, all I could think was “what if I just ruined the cycle?”.  Thankfully, I could be rational and I figured that if it were such a big deal, they’d give me prefilled syringes and they’d make sure to point out the change.  I am telling myself that it was my intuition, and for some reason I must have needed that extra dose at 225IU.

The U/S went well.  The nurse said they use the blood work more so than the U/S to determine medication dosage changes.   I have not received a call from the office so that means I am good to continue with the 150IU for tonight and tomorrow.  Wednesday is my next check in.  I’ll be adding in the next injection, Ganirelix, sometime after that probably.  The purpose of the Ganirelix is to stop me from ovulating too soon.  See, for IVF to happen, my body cannot ovulate until exactly at the moment necessary before retrieval.  More on that later though.  I have follicles (at around 11-12mm on each ovary.  I didn’t count them, because I was nervous, but I think there were at least 3-5 on each side.  My lining is at 7mm.  Is that good?  I hope so. 🙂

Today’s symptoms: I’m now getting uncomfortable twinges on my right side (ovary), and I’m super bloated.  I could hardly get my pants on today.  Looks like baggy shirts and sweaters for the rest of the week.  Add in a headache too.

Injection time.  Gotta go.

Peace,   K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in IVF and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 5 of injections – Check Up Time

  1. Hey K, you are almost there! Very exciting.

  2. sunshinecheryl says:

    I hope the rest of the week doesn’t bring too much discomfort for you.

Thoughts?

