Evil Needles, High Blood Pressure, and Tears

Today was my second scan to monitor my injections.  I had an overall pretty good day today.  Today.  Tonight we will get to in a moment.  I purposely got to my appointment too early.  My plan was to get on the list so I could at least get in at my scheduled time slot.  Well, I was taken by surprise when they called me in almost 20 minutes early.  I was able to get to work shortly after first period began.  I hate missing class time.  My students were angels though when I got there.  I felt so proud of them for being studious in my absence.

Back to the scan.  Well, no surprise but my blood pressure is eeking into the high range.  No worries, it’s the normal high range.  Really?  Is there really a “normal” high blood pressure?  As I mentioned in a previous post, I am extremely anxious about all this.  I cannot help it.  This is a pretty big deal.   I remedied this HBP problem by getting a pedicure, drinking some orange juice, and eating raw broccoli.  Weird, I know, but I know pedicures relax me, and I read OJ and broccoli are good things to eat for HBP.  I’m actually feeling better now.

I keep getting off track here.  So, I have a good amount of follicles on each side.  Much more on the right side though, which is the side with the chocolate cyst.  The follicles are now 14, 15, 16mm, and I think one or two were at 18mm.  Again, I didn’t count them because I was too excited.  But, I think she measured double the amount this time.  My lining is now at 8mm, which the nurses said was good.  They were surprised by the difference between Monday’s scan and today’s.  I’m to remain on the same Follistim/HCG dosages, and  add in Ganirelix to the mix tonight.  They said I’ll most likely have my retrieval on Monday, but they won’t tell me for certain until Friday’s check in.

ganirelix

Ganirelix is my least favorite of the injections.  Of course, each has had their own flaw that I could live without, but the site where I administered the Ganirelix  was sore as if someone squeezed and twisted for about 5-10 minutes.  The purpose of this medication is to be sure to delay ovulation.  From what I have read the follicles would be best if in the 18-24mm range close to retrieval time.  So, we keep injecting, and keep anticipating.   Ganirelix was the first thing to break me down, in tears that is.  It hurt more than I expected and it was so difficult to get in for some reason, that I just had an “I don’t want to do this anymore” feeling.  Of course, I do want this, but the process is wearing on me.  I’ve done 7 nights now of injections.  I just have to be strong for another 4.

K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Injections, IVF and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Evil Needles, High Blood Pressure, and Tears

  1. Hey K, just some motivation for the next injection from across the pond. 🙂

  2. sunshinecheryl says:

    Hi K, you can do this! Wishing you all the strength you need to get you through this next week.

Thoughts?

