Trigger Shot – Tonight!!

I really wanted to title this “stab me baby, one more time”, but that sent the wrong message. I have to share my joke though, so I put it here in the body instead. 🙂

Yesterday was my third check in to track my follicle size and such. This time the DR was the one to do the U/S and so the appointment took longer than expected. I guess I thought I was the only one in the world going to be scheduled for retrieval? Lol. Anyway, I have an awesome amount of eggs on my right side around 18mm, 16mm, 19mm. On the left I have some at 20mm and 21mm, which explains my discomfort on that side. My DR said he does not want the follicles to go over 25 or we will lose them. As I mentioned in the past, the technique of IVF is really A.R.T. because they have to use their best judgment and make decisions based on what they see and make a prediction.

My DR is going with his instinct and I am scheduled to have my follicles (eggs) retrieved on MONDAY at 7am! You can imagine my delight that last night was my last night of injecting lowdose HCG and Follistim. We took video of it because it’s such a big deal. My stomach is raw and hating me for stabbing it so many times. I say in the video “hhhmmm, where do I go?” because my stomach is full of tiny red dots. I feel so lucky to have only had to do three nights of Ganirelix, the evil one.

Tonight is the hcg trigger shot. Boom! The purpose of this injection is to get the eggs matured and released. They key is that I have to give the shot at exactly 7pm, or else. No, seriously, it’s a really big deal. It has to be exactly 36 hours before the retrieval.

A little anxious?

A little anxious?

Tomorrow I will have nothing to inject myself with!! Yes! :)I will begin taking antibiotic since retrieval is considered a surgery and I will receive light anesthesia.

I am so excited! The transfer of the embryos back into my uterus will happen sometime between 2 to 5 days after the retrieval.

K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Injections, IVF and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trigger Shot – Tonight!!

  1. sunshinecheryl says:

    WOW! This is going to happen! Wish I could fly there to hold your hand on Monday. I guess I’ll let T be there for all of us. I’ll be there in thought and spirit. I love you! Stay strong! You can do this K!

  2. Good luck for the trigger shot and retrieval. Hope all goes well.

  3. KS says:

    How exciting!! Loads of luck on Monday! My retrieval is Tuesday. Trigger tonite. I have my iPhone alarm set up just like you had yours!

    • K says:

      good luck on your retrieval too! That’s so cool we are at the same step of the process. 🙂 I’m so tired today, and emotional. I’m assuming hcg induced. Maybe being too excited. Lol

Thoughts?

