Eggs, Eggs, Eggs…Post Retrieval Update

IMG_3345Yesterday was my egg retrieval day. I’m not sure how many follicles I had, but 14 eggs were removed. Follicles are the sacs that hold the eggs and sometimes they can be empty. 14 sounds fantastic, but the DR said typically ¼ of eggs retrieved will fertilize. ¼ of 14 is 3.5. We are hoping to have at least four eggs fertilized. There are so many ways this can go, and one way is needing more eggs if this cycle isn’t successful. I don’t want to think negative, but I cannot ignore one possibility is no baby. Having four embryos would allow two extra in case we had to try again.

We were the first appointment of the day so I went right in and changed into my beautiful hospital gown and cap. The bathroom led into the prep room where the nurse attempted twice without success to get my iv in, and luckily the anesthesiologist was able to get it to work. Just so you know, I keep accidentally touching one of the blown vein sites and it stings. Ouch. The procedure room was right off of the prep room so I didn’t have far to go once they were ready for me. The room was eerie and I sort of felt like I was in a bad horror movie. The chair/table was a version of the regular OBGYN chair but half the size and it had fuzzy leg holders with straps. I felt like I had boots with fur stuck to me. Thankfully they gave me some anxiety medication and some sleepy time medication.

It’s always weird waking up from anesthesia, isn’t it? You wake up in your original prep bed and you’re like “how the heck did I get back here”. I have no memory of getting back into the bed. For all I know they may have had to carry me. HA! Anesthesia gets me every time; on the ride home T had to pull over for me to yack on the highway. I remembered water, crackers, sunglasses, but no barf bag. Next time I guess.20130115-201417.jpg

I stayed in my chair lounger all day yesterday until dinner with Marty cat. I tried to get up for lunch but I had to run to the bathroom. By around 5pm I was able to move around more easily without nausea. I still have a tingling kind of pain in my uterus/ovary areas. I think procedures involving those parts affect me more because of my endometriosis. Endo can leave behind scar tissue which can become uncomfortable. My substitute was available for today too so I decided halfway through yesterday that I’d take a second day off to heal properly. I feel like I need to get my body healed and energized as much as possible before the transfer. My body must be ready and willing to accept these embryos.

The journey is not over yet. I am on a mix of medication to regulate my hormones and begin persuading my body to act as if it is pregnant. I feel abnormal as a result. It was a good idea to take today off from work. I should be up for tomorrow, but I must admit I won’t be able to stop thinking about the transfer until it happens. We will receive a call tomorrow to confirm but the DR is thinking a Saturday transfer, which would be day 5. Saturday is my mom’s birthday so we are all hoping it’s meant to be. We have requested two embryos be put in to improve our chances. T really wants twins, and I think I do too, but I cannot imagine two infants at once. Wow! I’m hoping everything just works out the way it’s meant to be.

Thank you for stopping by to read about my journey!

K

 

 

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 7 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turned 3 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in IVF, Part II Retrieval and Transfer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eggs, Eggs, Eggs…Post Retrieval Update

  1. Hey T & K, well done for the 14 eggs. I hope you recover quickly and manage to have some moments of not constantly thinking about the embys. Not long now, pamper yourself a bit.

  2. I am so excited for you!!!!! I am checking my phone over and over again for an update to see how you are doing and to see how many embryos you have. 🙂 Good luck to you! Hope you are feeling better today!!! Fingers crossed and prayers being sent your way!

Thoughts?

