48 hours to Ultrasound 1

Our appointment is at 2pm on Monday but after my three hour wait for transfer, I’m not falling for that again. I am guesstimating we will get our u/s by 4pm. We plan on bringing a board game too. We don’t want to be bored and there may be others who laugh and join in, instead of being grouchy about having to wait. Good way to meet friends at least.

I wanted to use this post to update the world on my symptoms. As I type this I can smell the kitty litter from the other room and the cat hasn’t even been in there since this morning!

Symptom 1: super sniffer. This is great for smelling French vanilla coffee (not mine, Jules’), and garlic bread (again, not mine, in the lunch room). Those have been the only pleasant smells I’ve had with this condition. Mostly I smell kitty litter, cigarette smokers, people needing body spray or a bath, and smelly 7th graders. I should turn one of those car tree fresheners into a necklace.

Symptom 2: bloat. I look pregnant already. At least to me I do. Having gone through ivf, I’m still on hormone treatment and so it keeps me nice and fluffy. This doesn’t bother me too much, except I’m totally ready to buy a bella band already.

Symptom 3: acne. I was so lucky in middle and high school. I’d get one pimple, if even, once a month. I didn’t wear make up until college. My skin was awesome and I didn’t need it. Starting at about age 27 I was blessed with adult acne (note: sarcasm). Thank you hormones!! I’ve always wondered if it’d get worse during pregnancy because I heard most women get bad acne during pregnancy. Well, now I know. It’s in full force. I’m trying not to care. Once we have our baby(ies) and it’s safe, I’ll be zapping this problem. I should start saving for that now.

Symptom 4: starving 24/7. Suddenly I woke up earlier in the week and bam I had to eat all day. I bring at least 5 different snacks to work every day. Some days I go through all of them. I think it’s mostly due to symptom 5, the worst of them all.

Symptom 5: constant nausea. The next day after my first starving day was worse. It’s so much worse to be sick all day than to eat all day. The only food I can eat must be as bland as possible. You know, cardboard flavor. This has been troublesome being gluten free because my body is rejecting the gluten free crackers and bagels I have, and I had to break down and get saltines and plain Lender’s frozen bagels. My bowel will pay for it later, but at least Jack and Jill are being fed something.

I’ve been wearing the Sea Band motion sick wrist bands for the past two days. I ordered some Preggie Pop Drops from Amazon-Prime!-and those seem to help. A co-worker mentioned them and she was right-they help.

Thankfully I’m able to keep my food inside me, at least the bland stuff. I did have to check in with the porcelain palace twice today so far. Wish I had my phone last time because Marty cat was patting my back for me. Lol.

Currently barbecue chips are the only thing staying down. It had been saltines but now I’m not liking those either. Sorry T if they are all gone when you get home.

I’m trying to drink lots of water but it’s beginning to taste like metal. I added lemon juice to my newest bottle and it’s not so bad. So far I can only tolerate water, plain ginger ale, and sometimes sparkling water.

Those are currently the biggest symptoms happening now. Today is 5 weeks 5 days. I’m 70% that both Jack and Jill stuck. These symptoms are intense. I actually need to try to go to the store, nausea or not, just to leave the house because the kitty litter is stinking me out of here.

How many do you think there’ll be on Monday? Just Jack, just Jill, or both?

20130209-163114.jpg

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 7 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turned 3 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in First Trimester, IVF and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 48 hours to Ultrasound 1

  1. I think both Jack and Jill are in there. Can not wait to hear!!!! Let us know as soon as you know. I gotta live vicariously thru you, now. 🙂

    • K says:

      Thanks!! You’re so sweet-I’ll be sure to update you all as soon as I text a few people. My friends at work said “we better not read about on Facebook” lol!

  2. Theresa says:

    I’m hoping both! Another twin buddy would be cool! 🙂

  3. Beverly says:

    I am thinking it very well may be Jack & Jill :>)

Thoughts?

