9 weeks & Nausea

Negative Things First:

Nausea consumes me.  I cannot think of anything else but that if I don’t eat every second I get a drip in my throat, my own mouth tastes like poo, and then I will barf.  If you have never had 24/7 nausea with at least 3 trips to the porcelain tank per day, don’t judge me.

Sounds great that I am eating, right?  Not necessarily.  Here is my usual eating routine:

Orange juice (the spike of my blood sugar helps me get naturally “high” lol)

A granola bar (I can only handle the Quaker choc chip ones right now)

Frosted shredded mini wheat cereal

Some sort of snacks (today it’s been a toaster strudel and an eggo and I need another already)

Lunch (usually frosted shredded mini wheat again, or if I can stomach it a frozen dinner or noodles)

Some sort of snacks (crackers, yogurt, fruit)

Dinner (usually frosted shredded mini wheat again, sometimes I can stomach real food but it has to be PLAIN)

Here are the food/drink items that actually taste good to me right now and help me feel unsick:

Soda (I know, this is terrible.  I try to limit to 1 every once in awhile.  T & I only drink soda at the movies so it’s so weird that I like it so much now)

Movie theater popcorn (at the actual movie theater)

Frosted shredded mini wheat cereal

Orange juice (Minute Maid only)

Hot water with lemon in it

I am currently still on the generic zofran.  I have to take it every 8 hours or BAM-barf.  This leads to horrible constipation which the hot water with lemon seems to help.  I have a stool softener but I am lazy about taking it.

The Positive Things:

Our 8 week u/s was last Thursday.  We saw both babies still in there and saw one heartbeat and got to listen to the other.  We get to leave the Infertility DR and go back to my regular doctors closer to home.  I am really excited about this because two of them are women and yes, I am going to be sexist and say women tend to relate more to what I am going through.  Also, they are more experienced in the pregnancy side of this.  The Infertility DR just knocks you up.  He’s great at it, sure, but he didn’t tell us if the babies are measuring on target or where the heartbeats were at (as in how fast are they).  I want a more personal experience where I can be in the loop on what’s happening inside my body.  Plus, I’m thinking maybe they have better advice for me about this all day sickness.  I very well could have mild hyperemesis gravidarum

The infertility DR said he isn’t worried if I don’t eat.  I just have to pee a few times a day to show I am not dehydrated.  Um, okay.

One of the babies looks like a marshmallow man.  It’s the cutest thing ever and I keep thinking maybe I’m looking at it wrong?  How can it already look like that?  The pic looks like one is smaller than the other but it’s the way the baby is angled.  How do they look to you experts out there?

8 weeks 3 days

8 weeks 3 days

Next update will be next weekend, after I see my Fantastic DR on Thursday.

Sorry for being such a complainer.  🙂

K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in First Trimester, IVF and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 9 weeks & Nausea

  1. They look awesome! They’re sooooo cute. my next ultrasound is at 8w2d so hopefully my baby will look as cute as yours ;). Sorry u are still dealing with the all day sickness. mine has kicked up a notch this last week but nothing like you’re describing. i do hav several couch-rest hours a day tho. 😉 God bless.

  2. roadtofertility says:

    Congratulations on two healthy babies! I have morning sickness every morning without fail and start to get it at night too. I really hope it subsides for you soon! Unfortunately, I’m over thirteen weeks and it’s still going strong. Good luck with everything!

  3. KS says:

    I’m sorry to hear how bad your morning (or all day) sickness is. Glad you have a beautiful ultrasound. Hopefully you’ll get through this phase soon!

  4. Holly says:

    I feel so bad for you everytime you post. HG is one of the worst things that ever happened to me. I lost like 28 lbs while I was pregnant. I can still remember it. Awful. Your posts are making me second guess wanting to get pregnant again lol. I hope you get some relief soon and that your nausea is so bad because you’re having twins. Sometimes it magically goes away for some people. I hope you’re one of them.

Thoughts?

