Goodbye First Trimester

I’m writing from my phone so this will be quick and likely full of typos.

Tomorrow is 14 weeks. To some, I’m already one week into my second trimester. To others, I’ll be entering it tomorrow. Either way I’m pleased with my progress. I had a spotting scare at 12 weeks that ended with a four hour trip to the emergency room. T was with me and my mom was in town so she got to enjoy the fun as well. Haha.
After what felt like forever we got the all clear to go home and follow up with my reg dr within a few days. Luckily she was the on call ob for my practice so she spoke with the er dr and advised him how to handle it.

When we followed up with her the babies were both still fine and we even saw one waving its arm. It was so precious. She caught the cause of the spotting-there was some blood behind the placenta of baby A (the one closer to my cervix). She said it was likely implantation spotting and that I’d continue to spot since there was a good amount in there. I’m still spotting and it’s two weeks later. It’s not crazy bad but it’s annoying and stressful. I have (and had) cramping too but that’s just stuff moving around I guess.

At the recommendation of my mom”s friend I recently purchased a book on multiples. It’s awesome and I highly recommend it. A multiple pregnancy is just not the same as a singleton one. I need to put more effort into keeping these sugar babies in as long as possible. I’m very determined now. Since my body gives me trouble I figure this is one part I can sort of control and contribute to. If you read the book you’ll know what I’m talking about. For instance I need to gain most of my weight before 28 weeks so it’ll fit somewhere.

I also read that women pregnant with multiples should expect to start maternity leave at 24-26 weeks. Perfect timing because it’ll already be summer break for me. This of course means when school starts I’ll be 32 weeks. There is NO way I will be able to do full days then. Like I said, I’m cooking these babies as long as possible and I’m aiming for 37 weeks. I’ve been naive about this and thought I’d be able to start. Nope.

My sickness has finally started to lessen, although I still need my zofran. I have been able to ditch the super fab 80’s sweatbands. This is good because I have lots of eating to do. Which is still difficult but I have to try. And water is still really gross to me. This is not good because I need 8 16oz servings of water per day.

My birthday was last week. I’m officially old now at 31. Haha jk about the old part. My mom got me some cute maternity clothes while she was here. Now I can be stylish instead of wearing the same three things lol. My mother-in-law got me this adorable bracelet.

20130407-132621.jpg

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in First Trimester, IVF and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Goodbye First Trimester

  1. Theresa says:

    Yeah I have that book too. I used it for my weight gain goals as well (currently up 35 lbs at 32 weeks) but i thought some of it was a bit over cautious. It’s a good book though.

    • K says:

      Yeah after reading your last post I think they are over cautious as well. That makes me feel a little better about a few things they mentioned now. 🙂
      What are your thoughts on flying though? They say not after 24 weeks for multiples. We had plans for week 25-26. I’m going to ask my dr but now I don’t want to fly. 😦

      • Theresa says:

        Probably depends on how your pregnancy is going. I started getting crazy Braxton hicks at 22 weeks and was monitored at the hospital 3x between 22-26 bc they freaked me out. They never caused any cervical change or issues but made me worry about traveling. I think a lot depends on how strict your doc is. Mine has been fairly laid back

Thoughts?

