21 weeks – Second Trimester

I have been an absentee blogger.  Eeek!  It’s been 7 weeks since my last post, but really only 5 because the recent one was written at 16 weeks (just never posted lol).

I have had a decent amount of what I call “good days”.  These are days when I only need one Zofran and I can get a lot accomplished.  There hadn’t been many “bad days” in the past two weeks but suddenly BAM I’ve been feeling sick again.  It’s as though I have re-entered the first trimester.  I have a bad taste in my mouth, I’ve thrown up, my bowel is sluggish again.  I’m pleased to only be taking one Zofran a day, yet I’m a little sad to be still taking it-my goal was to be off by 20 weeks.

I find that I’m still anxious in my pregnancy.  It’s my infertile background stalking me.  I think that’s why I haven’t written.  Not until recently have I begun to feel like this is real.  Those of you that have gone through it understand.  Now that we are past twenty weeks I feel better.  I’ll feel even better at 24 weeks which I’ve read is sort of a “safe zone” because if they were to be born that early and were in a high end facility they would have a good chance of making it.  My goal is to keep them in until 38 weeks.

I have 5 more days of work with students, and one day of post-planning.  🙂  This is so exciting for me because I feel that my classes have been causing me stress.  I just want to relax and focus on the babies staying healthy.

I’ve noticed that I’m bumping into things more with my belly, whether my fault or something/someone else’s. Lol.  I’m amazed at how big this thing has gotten.  I feel like I’m 32 weeks already.  I’m trying to drink more water but it’s tough.  I’m supposed to drink at least 10 glasses a day.  I’m on number 6 I think.  I have not really felt the babies move consistently yet.  I’m hoping that becomes routine soon.  I sometimes feel baby A when I go to the bathroom at night.  It feels like someone is poking me.  I love it though.  I’m ready to be poked and jabbed so I can feel more connected to them.

I’m editing after posting because I remembered a few more things I wanted to tell you about.  So we had our anatomy scan but we want to be surprised so we didn’t find out the gender.  Also, can you believe I’ve gained over 20 pounds?  Yikes!  But, I’ve been lucky and it’s all in the belly so far.  Measuring at my belly button I’m 38 inches around. With twins you have to gain early they say, so I’ve been working on that.  It was tough too because I still do not have many cravings – only watermelon and root beer.  I had been craving Burger King Chick N Crisps but not so much anymore thankfully. lol.

We have so much happening over here…I’ll post more next time.  🙂

Oh, I added two pages to the home page…one is for baby pics (ultrasounds), the other is for bump pics.  Enjoy!

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in IVF, Second Trimester and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 21 weeks – Second Trimester

  1. Theresa says:

    I’d gained over 20 lbs by 21 weeks myself – I was shooting for 24 lbs by 24 weeks and in the end gained 44lbs. Sounds like you are doing great with that! So sorry you’re still feeling so sick -hope you find some reprieve soon. If you have any questions please feel free to ask!

  2. Sorry you are still having to deal with some morning sickness. Mine has made a Grand reappearance a couple times but nothing too major. But talk about things slowing down in the down south lol!!! I replied to you on my blog also. It’s been a little bit hard for me to post every week just because I’m always afraid that the next week will be bad news. Like you, I will feel a lot better after 24 weeks Lord willing

Thoughts?

