Join the Movement…Infertility Awareness

This post is was for National Infertility Awareness Week.  And it’s obviously late.

I am 16 weeks now 21 weeks pregnant with twins.  They are dizygotic, aka fraternal, seeing as I had to undergo in vitro fertilization (IVF) to become pregnant.  Sure, some twins from IVF are identical, but I’m betting most are fraternal since we infertiles want a child so desperately that we choose to have two eggs put in, hoping that at least one will stick, and wanting both to.  My husband and I know how fortunate we are, we had success on our first round and both eggs stuck.  I don’t know the statistics off hand for success on the first try, but I know that I have many blog friends that have not had success, even after multiple attempts.  I know that I have friends out there that have tried so many different treatments without the desired result.  I know some couples out there that have had to stop treatments because they have exhausted their funds.

With so many facing the infertile journey, you’d think more people would be aware of the statistics.  Before I “came out”, or rather began blogging about my infertility, I felt so alone.  I had no idea I knew so many people that had similar struggles until I spoke out and let the world know my story.  I guess I actually started my blog knowing that there were others out there but they were keeping silent.  Each time I’d tell someone I was having troubles conceiving, they’d share their story with me.  I wanted to give others the courage to speak out, or at the least have someone they could read about and know they weren’t the only ones experiencing it.

I have not shared my blog with my work colleagues, but I’m very open about my journey and I’ve told everyone there that we needed IVF to achieve this pregnancy.  I’ve been approached at work by others who have shared their infertility story with me, and some that are currently experiencing trouble conceiving.  I feel that if I can help even just one person better cope with their situation, it’s worth sharing my story.

It’s hard to not say “my” story instead of our story, even though infertility affects both partners.  In our case, our story was caused by my infertility.  It’s hard to give up that guilt.  I have endometriosis, which is not something you acquire, rather it is something you are born with.  [Please note that my MAC is telling me I spelled it wrong…that just shows you how common knowledge it is in the world].  My mom and I both knew I had it before it was finally diagnosed in 2011.  It’s too bad more doctors aren’t “in the know” on this condition.

I hope more people join the movement and share their journey, even if only through conversations with family and friends.  It doesn’t make people understand your journey better, but it gives you some relief.  If you don’t share, I hope my story at least helps you relate to someone else that understands.

Peace,
K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in IVF and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

