24.5 weeks

Does the third trimester begin at 27 or 28 weeks? I’ve read both online. Either way, it’s getting closer!

We are officially in MA and it’s taking longer to adjust than I expected. I love having my family and friends so close, but I miss most things about our life in FL. Marty cat has adjusted happily and thinks he owns the place. He’s even getting more daring with my belly. Yesterday he sat on my lap (what little space there is) and today he tried to walk up my belly. I keep waiting for the babies to push him off lol.

I’m getting so uncomfortable already. I’ve been napping every day. A bonus to teaching-summers off. It hasn’t really hit yet that I don’t have a job (since we moved). It sort of freaks me out that I’ll need to look for one next year. I’ll worry about that later though.

I’m still hungry all of the time. I feel like a hobbit because I have cereal when I wake up, then an hour later I need second breakfast (usually a bagel). I snack before and after lunch, sometimes I have two lunches, and dinner never satisfies-I have to eat an hour later. Oh and I need a snack after dinner or I’ll wake up starving in the middle of the night. Still no cravings though. I do love root beer, watermelon, and Richie’s Italian Ice. I’ve gained 25 pounds so far. Well, as of two weeks ago. I haven’t weighed myself since. With twins you need to put on the weight earlier because they grow on pace with singletons and then run out of space later on. I’d rather deal with the extra weight now instead of barfing and having heartburn later at the end. I will say the extra weight slows me down so much. I definitely waddle, can’t breath normally and have difficulty getting up once sitting. Lol.

20130620-090450.jpg

When looking at pictures of other pregnant women, I feel giant. I look about the size of some of the 38 weeks people! [new pic added under ‘bump bump’ link from the menu]. Baby A is super active. Baby B I feel poking sometimes but mostly I feel it spinning around in there. Sometimes I get this lump on my left side and it looks like lop-sided belly. It’s pretty funny. I think they like movies because they move the most when we watch movies. They’ll fit in just fine with the rest of us then. 🙂

We are remaining team green, because it’s the one surprise we feel we get to keep since the pregnancy was planned (Ivf). We do have an online baby pool if you are interested in guessing the genders. Baby Pool Link

I see my new doctor’s office July 1. I hope they match up to the awesome team I had in FL. I will say MA insurance rocks! Pre/postnatal care is covered 100% and there’s what I consider a minimal per day fee for the hospital stay. In FL I had a $300 deductible and had to pay 20% of the cost.

K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Second Trimester and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 24.5 weeks

  1. Wow! That is awesome insurance. My bill is already over $200 for prenatal care and I’m only 22 weeks! Plus still paying off our IVF. You look great! So cute that you guys are keeping genders a suprise. I always thought I would but the hubs had other plans. 😉 It’s nice knowing although the suprise would have also been fun. Great job chugging along! I’m looking forward to 24 weeks like you wouldn’t believe! I have such awful pregnancy anxiety. I always have little “checkpoints” along the way. Usually every 2 weeks.

    • K says:

      Thanks! Yeah I keep thinking I’m not “enjoying” pregnancy enough because I’m always worrying. But, around here we have the best hospitals so as long as I could get to one in time hopefully they’d make it okay. Of course, I keep thinking “how will I know if something went wrong”. But I’m trying to have faith. GL to you too! 🙂

      • Oh yeah. I’ve had those same worries. I’ve decided to accept that this is just typical for pregnancy after ivf. its harder to relax during. One of the drs I see told me that I can’t let anxiety run my pregnancy. I told my mom its my pregnancy I’ll worry if I want to! Lol. But I am working on it. 😉 I guess she had a good point. At any rate I do enjoy this pregnancy. I just do it in my own catious, scared way. 😉

  2. babylute2013 says:

    I like your blog! It must be so neat to think of having twins! You don’t look huge at all…just normal size since you have TWO babies in there! I have one baby in my belly and I feel like I’m huge:)

Thoughts?

