27 weeks tomorrow-third night in the hospital

So as you know, T & I moved to the Boston area a few weeks ago. My first OB appointment was Tuesday and it consisted of the midwife checking the babies heartbeats, answering my q’s, and I had my gestational diabetes test. Good news-no gd.

My ultrasounds are through a MFM (maternal fetal medicine) dr. Our first appointment for that was Friday. The u/s went well and the babies are still measuring right on track. They are about two pounds each now. Baby B is vertex (sideways) and Baby A is breech (feet down). Baby B actually had its legs over Baby A’s head. Lol. The u/s tech had a difficult time viewing my cervix so she had the dr come in to discuss. The dr did an internal u/s to better view the cervix length. As he thought, when pressure is applied to my belly my cervix opens on the inside. They call this funneling. He measured my cervix at .5cm, and you want it between 3-5cm. May was the last time my obg in FL measured my cervix and it was 5cm. Not having any record from then until now, my new dr had to do what was in our best interests-send us to the hospital to check for preterm labor. T&I were also very shocked by this. I’ve been feeling fine these last few weeks.

Unfortunately, his affiliated hospital had no NICU beds available, and not knowing if I was indeed in labor, he sent us to a different hospital. Upon arrival, they monitored the babies heartbeats, checked for contractions, and took some blood. It was a shock to find out that I was having consistent contractions because I felt nothing. Luckily, after two cervix checks, my cervix was still closed on the outside. They gave me a beta (steroid) shot to speed up the babies lung development in the chance they might be born early. After about 8 hours in the intake room, we were sent to a labor & delivery room to continue being monitored. I was given a medication similar to Motrin to stop the contractions. This is something they give for only 48 hours. (I just had my last dose a few hours ago.) Finally by 11pm Friday we were moved up to a monitoring floor w/ less restrictions. On this floor they check the babies heartbeats every 4 hours, and do a Non-Stress Test (checking for contractions too) once a day. I got my second beta shot yesterday. Yesterday the NST showed no contractions.

We were under the impression we would be released today. I say we because my wonderful husband has been with me the entire time. 🙂 Unfortunately, they did not let us leave. Why? Well, I’m still unclear on this. They want to monitor me now to see how contractions do without iv and without those meds. Today’s NST showed minor contractions. When we arrived, they discussed a possible pessary to keep the cervix snug. Since then though, we’ve been unclear on what they will indeed do for me. I assume they’ll check my cervix again tomorrow. It stresses me being here. I’d rather be home on bed rest. Oh, I’ll definitely be on bed rest for the remainder of the pregnancy. I’ve read many success stories of women who have gotten to 33 and even 36 weeks with such a short cervix.

Hopefully my contractions stop and I can go home tomorrow. And then hopefully our little darlings will continue to bake for at least another 6 weeks. They have been doing amazing on the monitors-very strong heartbeats and movement. Please send some positive energy and thoughts our way. We aren’t ready to have our little ones arrive so early.

Thank you,
K

20130707-205828.jpg

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Second Trimester and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 27 weeks tomorrow-third night in the hospital

  1. Pingback: 4 More Days! | Journey to Parenthood

Thoughts?

