Taking it easy

I did go to the dr yesterday. Basically, some women just have a short cervix. The dr said I can take it easy, avoid heavy lifting, etc. The drs keep saying there isn’t much research on whether bed rest helps or not. I say there is, if you start researching stories around the Internet. I always want to say to them “you know I did ivf, right?”. Either way I’ve put myself on a type of modified bed rest. I’m not taking any chances. The reason being that when I do stand or walk, I have pressure. I can tolerate walking to the car (I’m not driving but I’ll drive with others in heavier vehicles), and standing for only a few minutes. This morning I did have cramps, but I’ve had them the entire pregnancy off and on.

I’ve picked up the progesterone suppositories and will begin those tonight. Again, the drs don’t seem to know if this will be effective in twin pregnancy. They won’t hurt so its worth the attempt.

My next dr apt is the 17th (we will be 28 weeks), and the next u/s is the 30th (30 weeks).

Every day is a blessing for our babies. They say every day inside the womb is equivalent to two days outside. I’ve increased my omega intake to hopefully positively impact their brain development. I’m also going to increase my fruit & veggie intake, along with a Gatorade a day.

Will these things work? I have no idea, I’m not a dr. Anything is worth the extra time for our babies to keep growing.

Thanks for following our story,
K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Second Trimester and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Taking it easy

  1. Steph Mignon says:

    How totally nerve wrecking! Thank you for providing hope to those of us still in the trenches. I pray that your babies continue to grow and prosper in that belly of yours!

  2. Theresa says:

    Oh man. You know they stopped measuring my cervix at 28 weeks saying its supposed to start shortening anyway. They just checked for dilation after that. Stay in there babies!!! It’s cozy!

  3. Just wondering how ur doing and hope all is well. i agree with u that bedrest sure can help!!! plenty of stories that prove that.

Thoughts?

