30 weeks- Goal #2

I made it through these last three weeks without incident. I was even able to go out to lunch with some friends a few times and completed some baby shopping with T. It was nice seeing friends I haven’t seen in awhile. And I feel somewhat more prepared for the babies after getting some more baby essentials.

I’m still keeping myself on a modified bedrest. I only go out for appointments, on Saturdays with T for quality time, and an occasional lunch.

Symptoms/Sensations:
Nausea: I’m still on the Zofran (which costs so much more here in MA). My last throw up event was Friday.

Heartburn: Currently I’m taking Pepcid. I previously tried Zantac but it did nothing for me. Sometimes it’s difficult to sleep because I wake up choking on what feels like fire.

Pressure: The babies both feel like they are down super low. I purchased a new maternity support belt and it seems to help, but if I stand more than two-five minutes I start to feel a pinching sensation. I imagine this feeling is my cervix. I spend most of my day laying on my left side on the couch.

Constipation: This has always been a problem for me. With pregnancy, it’s magnified. I’m taking stool softener and senna twice a day. Even still, I have to occasionally use a suppository.

What’s strange is that when I am sitting or laying down I get a burst of energy and feel motivated to get stuff done. But as soon as I get up or start doing something, I feel miserable. When laying down my belly feels nice and soft, but when I stand it gets so hard.

Baby Movement:
The babies have been more mobile lately. They have their days of minimal activity, but they just seem very chill. I’m hoping they stay that way 🙂 I feel Baby A more than Baby B, but that’s because Baby B has a posterior placenta.

The Bump:
I had been feeling huge, but lately I don’t feel big enough to have two babies in there. I guess it depends on the angle lol. A lady the other day when we were out to breakfast told me I look wonderful. That made me feel nice. 🙂
My attempt at some cool bump pics:

20130729-203407.jpg

20130729-201356.jpg

20130729-200346.jpg

Cravings:
Even being nauseous I’m starving all the time. The things I want constantly (but don’t always have) are ice cream, waffle cones, Italian ices (Richie’s are the best), watermelon, root beer, Twizzlers, Life cereal, oranges.

Waist Measurement: 44.5 inches
Weight: 160

Next Appointment: ultrasound tomorrow, regular ob Wed. Hope to hear the cervix is the same or better! 🙂 Three weeks ago it was .5cm, but not dilated luckily.

My Thoughts/Feelings: I’m so glad to have made it to 30 weeks. T&I agree we want to make it to at least 36 weeks, 38 would obviously be amazing. Our next goal is 32 weeks-this is when we can go to the local hospital. Although, tomorrow I’ll discuss with the MFM what the game plan is should we go into labor early.

I worry a lot, no matter how much I try not to. Getting to this point has been a blessing, but the journey is not yet over. I get sad because I wish I could enjoy pregnancy. I keep wishing time will fly by so the babies will have more time inside to develop 100%. I didn’t get a chance to take maternity photos like I wanted. The ones above are my attempt at my own shoot lol. More to come soon. I’m planning family pics once the babies are here.

Lounging all day makes me feel guilty. T has to work and do everything else too. 😦 Luckily, we’ve been staying with my parents so the burden hasn’t been as bad. In a week we will be in our own place. I am excited, but feel more guilty about T having to do even more. I’m so blessed to have such a supportive husband. 🙂

K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Third Trimester and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 30 weeks- Goal #2

  1. Steph Mignon says:

    Wow congrats on 30 weeks! I guess the worrying doesn’t stop does it!? And btw, you DO look great!

    • K says:

      Nope, the worrying has not ever stopped for me. 😦 I did have a good month or two where I didn’t worry though. Thanks!

  2. babylute2013 says:

    Yay for 30 weeks. Baby steps. I’m sorry that modified bedrest is so tough. Sounds like you are coping with it pretty well. The main goal is to have two little healthy babies at the end of all this! You can do it…only another 6-8 weeks or so left!

  3. You look great!! Adorable maternity pics.

Thoughts?

