Keep on keeping on

Today I had an u/s at the MFM office. Both babies are growing on schedule: Baby A weighs 3lb 3oz which puts it at the 45th percentile (w/ 50% being average-and compared to singletons too); Baby B is 3lb 11oz, 65 percentile! I’d say Baby B takes after me (I was 9lb+ at birth), but it doesn’t like it’s pic taken so it might take after T, lol. I’m kind of shocked at their difference in weight. Last time, three weeks ago, they were only about an ounce different. The u/s tech and DR didn’t seem concerned, so it’s okay, but what are your thoughts?
It’s difficult to see much on the u/s screen unless you’re the u/s tech because the babies are taking up a lot of space now. The pics she gave me aren’t very good so I won’t post them. In one Baby A looks like a Terminator.

They didn’t check my cervix. They feel that without signs of preterm labor there isn’t a need. The doctor said she’s seen people with a short cervix make it to 37-38 weeks so that’s reassuring. I’m kind of bummed about not knowing if things are the same. But, since it wouldn’t change the care plan I guess it’d just be unnecessary worry.

The DR did confirm that 38 weeks is the furthest they’ll have me go. I’ll bring this up at my regular OB tomorrow so we can start considering scheduling and prepping for it. Baby A is still breech which is unlikely to change now since with two there isn’t much room for turning around. It is possible though, right? I hate the thought of surgery, especially being awake for it. I honestly think I’d rather tear up my cooter. I would love to hear others’ perspective on this. Please link me to your war stories, or comment.
Since they charge a good amount for it, and we’ll probably end up with a c section, and I’m not up for imitating labor with a short cervix, we are skipping prenatal classes. I really want to take a newborn basics class, but unless it’s under $30 I’m not interested. I’ll just keep reading my books. Speaking of that, I’m going to share some of the books I’ve been reading tomorrow along with my thoughts on them so far.

Random thought: I now strongly dislike water again. 😦 T made some raspberry lime syrup over the weekend to mix with sparkling water (raspberry lime Rickey) so I’ve been adding it to my spring water too. I wish root beer counted as water intake.

Thanks for keeping up with our journey. It makes me feel part of something to follow others and have them follow me (blog following, I’m not into stalking lol). I get hope from those ahead of me on the journey and I’m able to give hope to those behind me. This support is essential in the infertility world. No one knows our paths like each other.

K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Third Trimester and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keep on keeping on

  1. Root beer is mostly water, right?!

  2. Wow. Can’t believe they didn’t check. But I’ve heard from other people too that they usually don’t at this stage. I think we will probably forgo the classes too aside from the free breastfeeding class.

Thoughts?

