34 Weeks 2 Days: One more month to go!

Appointment Updates:

It looks like we are on track to make it to 38 weeks! The only snafu would be if my body goes into labor on its own since it doesn’t technically know there are two babies and it thinks I’m at full term.  I look like I’m at full term!  So I’ll be taking it a little easier these last few weeks.

Once we made it to 32 weeks I slowly began allowing myself to do more, plus we recently moved and how can I not help unpack some things?  I just can’t have everything a mess when the babies arrive.  T has done 95% of the work though.  This week we finished getting the babies’ stuff ready and we appear to be ready for them. 🙂
We had our u/s on Monday and everyone looks great! Baby A is weighing 4lb10oz and Baby B is 5lb3oz. That’s about a pound each gained this month so if they can gain another pound they’ll be about 6lb each when they arrive.  Baby A is still breech so it’s going to be a c section.  I’m still uneasy about it, but it’ll be fine.

I had my regular ob apt today and everything is still good.  My blood pressure is still fine.  I’m just amazed at my body. Starting to get headaches but think it’s water related. I think the DR I met today will be the one doing the surgery if we make it to 38 weeks.  He was very nice and I got a good vibe from him.

If you’re going to make any birthday predictions, this is your last week to do so w/o cheating lol. www.untilithappens.com/brownlife247

Symptoms/Sensations:
Nausea: I’m still on the Zofran but I haven’t thrown up since week 30 – yeay!

Heartburn: Much better.  I started making my second dose of Pepcid later in the day and it seemed to last through the night.  Now I’ve gone back to Prilosec because I already have some and the Pepcid ran out.  No issues for about a week now.

Pressure: My maternity support belt did it’s job for about a month.  I’ve only stopped wearing it now because Baby B’s head is right where the belt goes and I do not want him/her to have a squished head. Since I know we are at a nice healthy point, I’m not too worried about not wearing it.  I’ve made it 8 weeks already since the hospital stay in which we found out I have a super short cervix (.5cm).  On a side note: I laugh when I read about people’s short cervix issues and they are at 2.5 cm.  Not a mean laugh, but like a “try being me” sort of laugh.

Constipation: I went back to Miralax and poof-I can now go to the bathroom almost daily.  It’s such a joyous feeling lol.

Baby Movement:
I still feel movement the most on the right side of my belly.  This now makes sense because on Monday at the u/s we figured out that Baby B’s legs are over near Baby A’s head, which is where I would feel arms.  So I’m feeling arms and legs in this same area.  Silly babies.

The Bump:
It’s giant.  Seriously.  But, when I sit down it sinks into my legs somehow and I look so much smaller.  It’s very strange.

 

And this was at 33 weeks!

And this was at 33 weeks!

34 Weeks

34 Weeks

Cravings:
My favorite things are Twizzlers, green grapes, bagels w/ egg&cheese, green tropical flavor Gatorade, watermelon flavor Sunny D mixed with water (tastes just like Kool-aid but less sugar).  Oh, and anything I see a commercial for.  Those evil commercials.  I see a burrito, I need it right then.  I see a cheeseburger, I gotta have it right then.  Oh, and now people post recipes on Facebook and I have this giant list of things I have to have.  Like the chocolate lasagna!

Waist Measurement: 46.5 inches
Weight: 175 (luckily all belly)

Next Appointment: Thursday, Sept. 5 (regular ob)

Next U/S: Monday, Sept. 16 – 37 weeks!

My Thoughts/Feelings: I can’t believe we are here at 34 weeks.  I really got a scare when I found out my cervix was so short.  But, thankfully I have been able to maintain another 8 weeks since then.  I attribute this to drinking plenty of water (avoiding dehydration), not doing any lifting or excessive walking (having an amazing husband that helps me do everything), my maternity support belt, and progesterone suppositories (which, remember I was told there are no conclusive studies in twin pregnancies that this helps with premature labor-lucky thing I’m a rebel).

I’m now finally getting over my fear (not completely of course) of something going wrong.  My latest worry is now “am I ready?!”  I feel like as an “infertility” person you spend so much energy on making it happen, then on making sure the pregnancy goes well, that when it comes time to actually having the babies you kind of freak out. I’ve been reading this book “Heading Home with Your Newborn” and it has been making me feel a little better.  It’s such an easy read too.  Yeah, most of this stuff is common sense and learn as you go, but I feel like I’ve been waiting for this for so long, how can I NOT prepare??  I want to be the best I can be, and for me that means reading up on things and being as prepared as possible.  I am trying to blast through this book quickly because I have about four more to read and only a month to do it in!

Marty trying to read my book too

Marty trying to read my book too

K

 

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Third Trimester and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 34 Weeks 2 Days: One more month to go!

  1. the 33 week pic is so awesome and artistic! glad things are going well, getting closer!!

  2. You look great! I’m so happy you’ve made it this far. Not too long left now! 🙂

  3. babylute2013 says:

    That sounds like a good book! I know the feeling of being slightly terrified that this whole pregnancy thing leads to having a baby. Sometimes it’s so easy to focus on making it through the pregnancy weeks that it’s almost like I forget that the baby is coming soon! Seems silly, but this happens to me.

    You look great! Your belly is just perfect. I also wear a support belt (mainly for running). I started wearing it around the house and its amazing how much it helps. I can only imagine having 2 babies in there!

    You are so close, only a few more weeks!

Thoughts?

