35 Weeks: Is that a rash?

I’m so itchy. Well, on my belly. I’ve been avoiding the “stretch marks” conversation on here because I just didn’t want to jinx myself. Well, now it’s safe for that conversation. I have had a beautifully smooth belly, even with my weird belly button (which I assume is leftover umbilical cord that never healed right-yeah, gross). 34 weeks and 4 days into a twin pregnancy and no marks. I was so proud of myself, and of my Palmer’s lotion. But on this day is when things went wrong. My memory of this is a little fuzzy so I can’t remember why (I think I wanted to smell nice) but I put on some coconut lime Shea butter instead of my Palmer’s. Within 30 minutes I could see what appeared to be stretch marks. Soon after I began to itch really bad. Suddenly I had a rash. I washed off my belly and I switched to Aveeno baby lotion, and later clear Aloe. Still no luck with either. I’ve been actually without product on the belly for much of today and yesterday.

I called the nurse today because it’s still so itchy. She said to try coconut oil (like from the baking aisle) and if that doesn’t work the spray Benadryl. It’s probably from stretch marks since its only on my belly. Oh goody. Was this just a coincidence or did I unnecessarily cause this? It’s devastating if it’s my fault. So here I sit all oiled up with some coconut oil like a chicken or something. I can’t tell yet if it’ll work yet. I’m still itchy but a little less so. At least I smell good, lol. The cat disapproves. He licked me and then went to the other side of the couch.

Symptoms/Sensations
:
Nausea: I’m still on the Zofran but I haven’t thrown up since week 30 – yeay!

Heartburn: Starting to become a problem again. For some reason I’m not very good about taking a one a day pill for this. I might have to go back to Pepcid.

Pressure: Baby B’s head is right there! Eek! I’m carrying very low lately which causes my leg muscles to ache (groin/hip).

Back Ache: This is a newer one. I think Baby A is kicking it. It could also be from this massive belly I’m carrying around without a support belt.

Belly Rash: New this week. See complaint above.

Baby Movement
:
Little wiggles and squirms.

The Bump:
It’s still giant.

20130903-201724.jpg

20130904-100055.jpg

Cravings:
My favorite things are Twizzlers, green grapes, bagels w/ egg&cheese, green tropical flavor Gatorade, watermelon flavor Sunny D mixed with water (tastes just like Kool-aid but less sugar).

Waist Measurement: not measuring this week lol
Weight: ??? I’ll be weighed again Thursday.

Next Appointment: Thursday, Sept. 5 (regular ob)

Next U/S: Monday, Sept. 16 – 37 weeks!

My Thoughts/Feelings: I wish I wasn’t so itchy. I wish it would turn into fall already. I hope these babies stay in until 38 weeks.

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Third Trimester and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 35 Weeks: Is that a rash?

  1. roadtofertility says:

    Hey making it to 35 weeks without any stretch marks is pretty awesome! I wasn’t worried about stretch marks, but my husband was. He bought me this weird oil that he “researched” and was supposed to be the “best.” We used it periodically but most of the time we forgot. lol. I made it to 34 weeks and did not get any of the marks but I’m pretty sure if I lasted longer I would have! Sorry for your itchy belly 😦

  2. Theresa says:

    I started to get a back ache at week 33 – a support belt really did help and in my opinion its never too late to get one!

  3. Aww! Bummer about that itching / stretch marks. That doesn’t sound comfortable at all. Just think! 3 Weeks to go. Wow!! I can’t wait to see the babies and find out their genders!

  4. Cheryl says:

    You are almost there! I wish you didn’t have the rash/mama stripes but if you do, I’m sure you’ll wear them proudly. I can’t wait to meet our little (maybe not so little) babies! Love you and love my stripes.

  5. Pingback: It’s definitely a R-A-S-H: PUPPPS | Journey to Parenthood

Thoughts?

