It’s definitely a R-A-S-H: PUPPPS

For those of you that have had this rash, I don’t even need to attempt to explain what I’m feeling to you. For my southern state dwellers, I’d describe it as if a 1,000 fire ants stung me. My thumb alone has about 20 little welts. If I was still in FL, I would have actually thought fire ants got into the house. Since we are now in the north, I originally thought we had fleas in here. Lol, until no one else (T nor Marty cat) were itchy. But fleas cannot even describe the feeling well enough now. It burns, like fire ants. For those of you that know me, I’m allergic to those and they are my arch enemy.

It started as a belly rash and I thought it was just stretch marks coming in. (See last post).
Now the worst part isn’t even my belly. It’s how horrific my legs, feet, arms, and hands look. The pictures won’t even capture what I’m seeing here. I’ve inserted some pics but they look like nothing compared to seeing this in person. My hands feel the worst. I can’t bend my fingers without it itching and burning. I have growing blisters on my fingers and palms (so, yeah the whole thing about it skipping your palms is a lie). I scratched my hands, mostly in between my fingers, all night long.

20130907-162751.jpg

20130907-162802.jpg

20130907-162808.jpg

What have I tried so far? Well, I went to the doctor and got a topical steroid which has made my belly feel so much better. I didn’t clarify whether I’m supposed to use on the other rash areas because they didn’t exist yet when I saw the dr. And if the answer is yes, I’m going to need another few tubes of this. She also gave me an allergy/anxiety type pill called hydroxyzine. I didn’t start it right away because I read you should only take it if you have to. Well, it’s at the have to point. It’s that or I claw my skin off. I’m at the point that if they offer me an oral steroid at my apt Monday, I’ll take it. Natural cures can only do so much in this situation-bring on the pharmaceuticals.

The natural remedies I’ve tried include a natural oatmeal kids anti-itch cream (kind of works and now is great for use on the part of the rash that made it to my butt, yeah you heard me right), Grandpa’s pine tar soap (recommended online by others-smells like what I imagine the panther cologne in Anchorman smells like), cold wet clothes, clear aloe, Aveeno baby lotion. Next I’m going to try drinking V8. I read that some people think this rash is liver related and somehow V8 detoxifies your liver? Who cares, I’m trying it if it might help.
T got some liquid Benadryl for me. I’ve put it on probably 10 times today. It helps for a little bit (like 10 min). Oh, and we just got some baking soda to try in baths and as a paste.

If you have other remedies, please pass those along. I still have another 2.5 weeks until 38 weeks. I’m worried we won’t make it that far now with this rash. I read on another blog that they induce if its bad enough. Of course, I’m having a c section so they won’t induce, they’ll just schedule me earlier.

So what officially is PUPPPS?
whattoexpect

Symptoms/Sensations:
Nausea: My rash is so bad I can’t even imagine being nauseous so I skipped the Zofran today

Heartburn: Starting to become a problem again. For some reason I’m not very good about taking a one a day pill for this. I have gone back to Pepcid. It’s been the only thing to really work for me.

Pressure: Babies are still low but the rash is overtaking other discomforts.

Belly Rash: Horrific. See complaint above.

Baby Movement:
I think me being distressed is affecting them. Baby B isn’t moving as much.

The Bump:
It’s still giant.

Cravings:
My favorite things are Twizzlers, green grapes, bagels w/ egg&cheese, green tropical flavor Gatorade, watermelon flavor Sunny D mixed with water (tastes just like Kool-aid but less sugar).

Waist Measurement: haven’t found my tape measure
Weight: 178

Next Appointment: Monday, Sept. 9 (thank goodness because the rash has exploded)

Next U/S: Monday, Sept. 16 – 37 weeks!

My Thoughts/Feelings: I wish I wasn’t so itchy. I wish it would turn into fall already. I hope these babies stay in until 38 weeks. If there’s a God and you aren’t too busy, can you please make my hands less itchy?

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Third Trimester and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to It’s definitely a R-A-S-H: PUPPPS

  1. Oh dear! This looks miserable! Im guessing you read amanda griswolds blog? I think she recommended the soap 3 times a day. I think. I do hope you can get some relief for the next 2.5 weeks.

  2. Sex panther!! I’m sorry you’re so itchy, but that made me laugh.

  3. ohdearme. this looks miserable. i have no additional remedies for you, unfortunately, as it sounds like you’ve tried every option known to man. uhhhhh. i don’t know. itchy all over is the worst. hang in there, woman. on another note, you have no stretch marks yet?! impressive! i thought i was for sure doomed with a multiple pregnancy. you’ve given me hope! πŸ˜‰

  4. babylute2013 says:

    THIS LOOKS MISERABLE! You poor thing, I am so sorry you are having to deal with this. I hope that you get a good solution to make the rashes go away.

Thoughts?

