4 More Days!

Sunday, Monday, Tuesday…sort of three days because today is almost over!

For those of you that have been following me for some time, you know that this journey has not been all rainbows and unicorns.

The picture below shows me at 26 weeks-one day before our trip to the hospital for a super short .5cm cervix, and the 37 week photo was taken today-11 weeks later.  I am so thankful to have gotten not only to full term, but I am four days away from my scheduled c section date at 38 weeks 2 days!  So I guess it doesn’t matter the length of your cervix, what matters is the strength of your cervix and your ability to listen to your body.

From short cervix to full term

From short cervix to full term

Link to the post about our hospital stay

Okay, so since I last wrote, we’ve had our last u/s and our last ob appointment.  We officially hit full term on Monday the 16th at 37 weeks.  The babies are growing like champs. Baby B is now between 6.5 and 7 lbs; Baby A is between 5.5 and 6 lbs. That’s about 12lbs of baby I’m carrying in case you were wondering. Yeah, I’m kind of a big deal. lol. Oh, and how cute…we got to see that they are practice breathing in there. A very good sign of healthy, happy babies we were told.

The babies are scheduled to make their debut this week-at 38 weeks! Our bags are packed already of course because with 12 pounds of baby there are no guarantees I’ll make it to Wednesday.  Although, we’ve made it this far.  We are pretty determined to make it to Wednesday.  We will have met our goal on Monday though, so if they can just hold out until then lol.  I don’t know many people that have made it to 38 weeks with twins.  I’d like that trophy to put on my shelf-haha.

I had a little snafu at my last ob appointment.  When I got there, the doctor was leaving to go to the hospital.  Supposedly, she was second on call.  How many emergencies were there that they needed the second on call? Yikes.  Anyway, my real problem came with the fact that I had never met this doctor before and she will be doing the surgery on me.  Why would they schedule me with her on a day she is on call?  So being super hormonal, I cried, and cried, and cried, for about 2 hours.  Luckily they could reschedule me for the next day.  T came with me this time because he didn’t want something else to come up and for me to worry about how to remedy it on my own.  Once we got to meet her I was a little more relieved.  She seems to be on her game.  She mentioned that the procedure could take longer since I have scarring from my endometriosis and laparoscopy.  But, at least she knew to ask about it and she said it was good for her to be prepared with that knowledge.  I will say, for those of you that will also need a c section, do your research on what to expect and such.  I have found that I’ve gotten more information from my own research than from what the doctors tell me.  I like to be in the know.  It makes me feel more relaxed if I know what to expect.  I don’t like surprises when it comes to pain.

Symptoms/Sensations:
Nausea: I had to cut my 4mg Zofran in half to make it last until Wednesday.  So I am only taking 2mg a day.  It’s not enough but it’s at least enough to keep me from throwing up.  I’ve noticed I have become so sick this past week.

Heartburn: Still there, still taking Pepcid.

PUPPPS Rash: Getting better.  I was finally able to shave my legs (nothing special-dry shave while sitting on the couch).  The worst of it is under my arms/armpits.  Yuck.

Pressure: Babies are still low and I can hardly walk without feeling like they’ll slide out. Luckily Baby A’s still breech and so it’s bum is preventing that from happening. I’m starting to get severe back pain from the pressure.  It’s intense and I have to grab the wall or whatever is near me when it strikes.

Baby Movement: They have their moments.  Mostly they are too cramped.  They still love to be active when we watch movies or Mythbusters though.

The Bump: Have you seen this thing?  I can’t describe it anymore. Lol.

Same shirt, not the same fit though

Same shirt, not the same fit though

At around 10 weeks we went shopping at Motherhood Maternity and tried on the fake 7 month bump

At around 10 weeks we went shopping at Motherhood Maternity and tried on the fake 7 month bump

I used to be small! lol

I used to be small! lol

Cravings:  Right now I love Twizzlers.  I’m starting to eat less so not craving too much anymore.

Waist Measurement:48 inches!!! (My tape measure was in a place I’ve looked three times lol, of course right?)
Weight: 183

Next Appointment: Wednesday, Sept. 25 (to meet the babies!!!)
My thing is that I am having major surgery.  I’m a baby when it comes to that.  I want my rest and to heal without being around anyone but T, my mom and my dad.  I’ll be stuck in the hospital until Saturday or Sunday, so I’m requesting no visitors my first day there.  That’s not too mean is it?  I should really make it two days, but I figure it’s easier to have visitors at the hospital than at my house.

My Thoughts/Feelings: Am I ready for this thing called parenting?  All I can think about is how uncomfortable I am. I’ve been wondering how long that will last.  I know after the surgery I’ll be uncomfortable still, but it should be a different kind, right?  I worry my discomfort will get in the way of being able to care for my babies.  Luckily I have T and he’s ready for the parenting challenge of twins.  I wish I knew more about what to expect while in the hospital.  If anyone has their own insight, comment below, or leave me a link to your blog where you discuss the few days after birth.

My last book to read is Breastfeeding Made Simple.  Hopefully I will have Monday and Tuesday to complete that one.  🙂

Thank you for following me.  This will probably be my last post until the end of the week.  I’ll try to post while in the hospital just because I can’t imagine having extra time once I’m home. Ha!

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 7 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turned 3 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Third Trimester and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 4 More Days!

  1. babylute2013 says:

    Eeeek! You are almost there! I bet your excitement and nerves are going crazy right about now! It’s such a huge accomplishment that you made it to full term (and 38 weeks, at that!) with twins. Give yourself a trophy, because its awesome. Especially with your hospital scare at the end of your second trimester. It’s going to be so great having healthy non-preemie babies to take home with you from the hospital just days after birth.

    The human body sure is amazing….a skinny little thing like you has 12 pounds of pure baby in there!

    I’ll be thinking of and praying for you this week. I can’t wait to hear their names and see their pictures. But no rush, us bloggers/readers will be ready and waiting just as soon as you are ready to share! Good luck!

  2. I’ve been excitedly waiting for this for you! you’ve been through so much, and you DO deserve a trophy for making it to 38 weeks! You Are Awesome!
    Hope you have a great birth experience and it all goes smoothly! Can’t wait to see their debut on here in a few days! Best Wishes!

  3. Theresa says:

    I certainly don’t blame you for not wanting visitors right away. I woud advise, however, to take all the help that is offered – at home and in the hospital. Use the hospital nursery while you are there so you can rest and recover – hubby and I sent the babies to the nursery at night and they brought them to us when they needed to be fed. I truly believe that helped me recover more quickly. After that, we had help at homefor almost 6 weeks and it was such a blessing with two! Obviously everyone is different but those are just my two cents.
    Totally agree on the trophy thing.

  4. Just checking in to see how things are going. Babies must be here by now? Hope all is well.

  5. Pingback: 38 weeks 2 days | TwinMomLife: A Parenthood Journey

Thoughts?

