Giving Thanks, Week 1

Yes, I still owe you some posts.  Eek-I really am working on them. This one was just on a time limit and easier to pump out. 🙂

Due to being a busy Twinnie Mom, I’ll be posting my things to be thankful for by 5-7 day increments.

Day 1: I am thankful for our two beautiful children.  They really are the cutest 🙂 I know, I’m bias on this one, but I just love them to pieces.

sleepy cat and mouse

sleepy cat and mouse…like this pic?  Vote for us at this link.

To be thankful for them includes so much more than just being thankful for them though…

Day 2: I am thankful for ART (Assistive Reproductive Technology), because without IVF my body was not willing to cooperate and our wish for biological children might not have been granted.  I think about how before 1977 if you wanted biological children, but for whatever reason it wasn’t happening, you were just out of luck.  The first IVF baby to be born was Louise Joy Brown in 1978 in Great Britain.

That was not that long ago.  I’m thankful for brave, strong willed doctors that spend their lifetime searching for cures to ailments and illnesses.  I’m thankful that we have leaders in our country that support the science of ART.  I’m sorry to get political, but there are some would be leaders out there that are ready to take away such science all because of their personal religious beliefs.  Well, my fertility DR happens to be a Christian and he believes and practices this wonderful technology from science.  It is possible to keep your faith and have such advances.

Day 3: I’m thankful that on the first round of IVF we were blessed with these two lovelies, and that we got one healthy boy and one healthy girl.  We really did “buy one, get one free” as you say.  They luckily do not charge extra to transfer two embryos instead of one.  Not every cycle results in a successful pregnancy.  If you can read this chart, it gives the national average success rate.  According to my DR’s website, the national average is 31.6% per retrieval.  My fertility issue was endometriosis, stage IV.  Luckily, with IVF, my chances for success were very high.  I keep all of you still trying out there in my thoughts.  Infertility is a tough road and I wish none of us had to travel it.

Day 4:  I’m thankful we were able to pay the enormous price of IVF.  I’m thankful for my parents and my mother-in-law for their support monetarily and emotionally on our infertility/fertility journey.  It makes me sad that not all insurance companies, or rather employers do not choose coverage for this.  People probably think “well, if it’s meant to be” meaning some people just aren’t meant to have children; to which I say, why do they have IVF and other infertility options if it isn’t meant to be?  If the science and technology are there, shame on us for not making it better accessible to all.  Doctors in America just charge too much is the bottom line.  Anyway, that’s a rant for another time-this is supposed to be a positive, thankful post.

Day 5: I’m thankful for my husband because without his support I would not have made it through all the hormone injections, procedures, and meltdowns that go along with infertility and pregnancy.  No one truly understands the emotional challenges you face when you have been a victim of infertility.  I’m glad I have such a great support system in my life.

K&T xoxo

K&T xoxo Feb 2012

Day 6: I’m thankful for good genes, and a healthy body.  I gained about 60 pounds during my pregnancy, with my biggest weight being 181.  I don’t know my current weight, but at two weeks post partum I weighed 141. (My brain is a little fuzzy still so these numbers may be off by a few pounds.) That means I lost 40 pounds almost instantly.  That’s just awesome!

Remember this pic?  This is me the day of surgery/delivery.

Remember this pic? This is me the day of surgery/delivery.

I’ve started walking to build my strength up to return to running.  I’m very pleased with how I feel 🙂  I really need a good release and running will do just that.  I’m not sure when I’ll do my first race again.  I’m taking my time getting back to it.  I walked a mile yesterday and I’ll try to do two miles next time, hopefully this week, then I’ll walk three the next time, then four.  Once I walk four miles with a normal, healthy stride I will attempt running, but at .5 to 1 mile increases.  Of course, this all hinders on my 6 week post check up which is next week.  I figured starting my walking before then should be fine. Oh, I want to mention this, especially for my

The belly support band is super helpful.  I was wearing it every day almost all day but now just half of the day or when out walking.

The belly support band is super helpful. I was wearing it every day almost all day but now just half of the day or when out walking.

pregnant twin people out there…definitely use a lotion such as Palmer’s twice a day during your pregnancy.  Then after, you need to use a firming lotion asap.  I’m using Nivea’s firming lotion with Q10.  I notice a significant difference in my skin.  I’ve been using the Nivea for about three weeks.  My skin is VERY smooth and seems to be decreasing the amount of wrinkles nicely.  Of course, the lotion doesn’t make your skin shrink, it’s just making my elasticity amazing and it’s aiding in the healing process.  And, no, I don’t work for Nivea lol.

I also wear a belly binder support that I got from the hospital.  I plan to transition to Spanx or something similar but just have not made the leap yet.

Our last race...11-2012...looking forward to our next one!

Our last race…Nov 2012… looking forward to our next one!

My other running buddy, Jules. Hopefully we will run together again one day my friend :)

My other running buddy, Jules. Hopefully we will run together again one day my friend 🙂  Oct. 2012

Part of being thankful is enjoying the moment, and being kind to others.  Take some time this month to be kind and enjoy the moments.  

K

editing was limited due to obvious reasons (twins!)

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 7 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turned 3 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Giving Thanks, IVF, Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Giving Thanks, Week 1

  1. babylute2013 says:

    I love the idea of doing weekly Thankful posts for November. Great idea, I might steal it!

    You look fab, btw!! Amazing you dropped 40 lbs so quickly. I gained 23 and I’ve lost 20.4 lbs so far (at 3.5 weeks post partum). I am getting back into running, but it’s a challenge with feeding a baby so often, plus I feel slow from taking 2 weeks off. That is great you are working up your daily mileage to get stronger for running. You rock!!

    I’m so happy IVF worked for you!! I have several friends who have undergone IVF and some are successful and others have not been. You are a blessed lady with your twins!!

    • K says:

      I always want to steal your ideas, so I’m glad to share mine with you! 🙂 You are too kind, thank you! I’m pumped-I’m now at 136-with only my one walk in so far. 🙂 You are so fit, I’m sure you’ll be back into your fitness routine in no time. 🙂

      • babylute2013 says:

        Wow that’s awesome!! Way to go. I’m excited to start a more regular routine now. My hubby and I just sat down to plan out a “gym schedule” so we can both get opportunities to go. SO PUMPED!

      • K, Twin Mom says:

        That’s great! Yeah, so far I haven’t had any work out time. 😦 It’s looking like I’ll need some good DVDs to just do stuff at home. Make use of nap time. 🙂 I do take the two on walks and pushing a double stroller is a workout lol.

      • babylute2013 says:

        Workout DVDs are an awesome idea! I have a friend who has the insanity DVDs, I wonder if I should try borrowing them. What a great idea, thanks! I bet pushing both kiddos in the double stroller is a GREAT workout! One baby in the stroller is already a lot of work, I can’t imagine two!

  2. natjezzford says:

    What a beautiful post!!! I’m so happy for you. You have so much to me thankful for its great to hear, your positivity has repaid u xxx

    • K says:

      Oh, thank you! 🙂 I find I don’t always give thanks so I’m glad this has been trending. Maybe I can keep it up throughout the year, even if just in a journal. 🙂

Thoughts?

