1 Year of Blogging

Today is the anniversary of my blog’s beginning.  It’s funny because I just posted about changing the blog name.  So now I’m stuck on the fence about that.  Although, I did let my domain expire, so I’m just plain twinmomlife.wordpress.com now.  I’m no longer a fancy .com.  I’d like to know your thoughts on me changing the site.  I’m not talking about just the title of the page.  I’m talking about no longer being brownlife247 and becoming twinmomlife instead.  DON’T EVEN THINK ABOUT STEALING MY NAME! lol.  It’s my new Twitter handle and I think it’s nice to have matching social network names.

It isn’t that I want to shed my infertility journey, because I just found out I can merge this page with my new link and it’ll be like nothing changed.   A year ago I had two cysts, one on each ovary.  My DR in FL had seemed hopeful that being pregnant would shrink the cysts and my endometriosis could possibly be gone.  To which I thought “hahahahahahahaa”.  For the past few days I’ve had that all too familiar twinge in my left ovary, the evil ovary.  If I were still at the same DRs office, I would have her scan to see if a new cyst, or the same one puffed up already.  I’m on that “mini pill” because 1-I’m not down with my endo returning, and 2-in case my endo is magically resolved, we do not want any more babies.  I feel awful saying that, especially since deep down inside I still yearn for a natural pregnancy.  But, this twin thing has worn me out.  Sure, I think one baby would be a piece of cake after twins, but I’m majorly exhausted.

Last December I felt hopeless, even though we were going to be doing IVF I wasn’t sure how we would pay for it and if it would even work.  My family has a yearly Yankee Swap (aka White Elephant) and I am so happy to bring our two lovelies with us this year.  Last year I came up from FL by myself and I drank too much wine.  No worries, my Dad was the DD.  🙂  I know those feelings of wanting a baby so bad, not knowing if it’ll happen, and wondering ‘why me?’, even more so around the holidays and baby carrying family.  I’m so happy that this year we have our little science miracles.

I never finished my Giving Thanks posts.  I’m sure you can guess why-TWINS! lol.  Anyway, I want to say that I am truly thankful for all of you.  I have 73 followers according to my page stats.  Wow!  The blogging world gave me a refuge, a place to feel safe to let out my feelings of inadequacy and discuss my infertility fears.  Like they say, no one can truly understand your journey until they walk a mile in your shoes.  I know most of you have walked a mile, even many miles in the infertility shoes.  For those of you still on your journey, I keep you in my thoughts.  For those of you on this wild ride of parenting, I also keep you in my thoughts; may you have at least one peaceful hour to yourself. 🙂

I’ll be writing the month and 2 month posts for the babies this week, but I just wanted to ask everyone-were your babies super cranky for a long time after their two month shots?  Ours were last Wed. and A&L have been off since. 😦

Oh, and I’m convinced L has “colic”.  I have one question for @DrHarveyKarp: how do I handle this when I have another baby that also needs to be held?  Your 5″S’s” work great, except when I then have to put him down to feed, change his sister.  What is a twin mom to do?  Thankfully, A isn’t as needy so I’m able to hold him for extended periods throughout the day.

Oh yea!  I ran my first mile postpartum over the weekend! 🙂  My legs are still sore!

Here are some photos of the lovelies until next time:Image

Image

ImageIsn’t it amazing how much they have grown?!

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in IVF, Newborns, Parenthood and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1 Year of Blogging

  1. Twin Mom says:

    So happy for you that you are in a better place than last year!
    I can totally relate to not wanting more kids at this point – – it took us four years to even talk about it, and there are 6 years between my twins and my daughter! Exhaustion is the norm for a while, but this too shall pass, so hang on. More sleep and fun are coming – I promise 🙂
    One of my suggestions to relieve colic is to rub a bit of peppermint oil on the bottoms of L’s feet – – it is soothing to the tummy if that’s what’s bothering him. Just be sure to use 100% therapeutic grade peppermint oil and dilute with a carrier oil such as olive oil or grape seed oil. I use Young Living essential oils for my family. Check out the following link for more info: http://www.oil-testimonials.com/1499386. Congrats on running already – I’m impressed!
    Pics of the twins are adorable – you will be so thankful to have those in the years to come!

    • K, Twin Mom says:

      Thank you! I do believe he has tummy troubles. I will look into the peppermint oil. It’s weird because when I hold him, he’s fine. He forgets he isn’t an only child I guess! Haha.

Thoughts?

