Teething at Four Months?

I write this post seeking your advice.  Please, help a twin mom out! 🙂

A&L are both drooling like crazy, eating their hands, licking on everything they come in contact with, are super congested, and worst of all-not themselves!  Maybe the congested part doesn’t connect, but it feels like it does.  The hours between 1 and bedtime are filled with serious crabbiness and lots of crying.  Yesterday When I wrote this on the 30th of last month, A would only take 4 ounces at a time, when she usually takes 6 ounces.  Today When I wrote this, L wanted to eat every 2 hours.  I wasn’t sure if this behavior was truly connected to teething, but I can see that their gums look like teeth are there suddenly.  I don’t see any teeth, no, but I can tell something is happening.  Of course, according to the Wonder Weeks App, they are in leap 4, and it shows a storm cloud.  Eeek!  Update: The doctor acknowledged that these symptoms relate to teething, but then when he checked their mouths, he acted like they aren’t teething.  Maybe he just meant they don’t have teeth coming out yet?

L can hold things in his hands, more so when in a sitting position and with better accuracy when the object is connected to something.  I’ve had luck with this ring thing that came with the Rock-N-Play (see picture).  A has more trouble with holding objects, but when I connect it to her bouncy chair, she’s okay with managing it.

These links are great.  I've attached these rings to it to make it easier for them to grab.

These links are great. I’ve attached these rings to it to make it easier for them to grab.

My questions are: Do you think these behaviors sounds like teething? Do you know of any teething items that are easy for babies that don’t really get the idea of teething toys?  Could some of the crabbiness be related to this stage 4 leap?  If so, is the Wonder Weeks book worth purchasing?  I need practical, use now advice.  I have TWO crabby babies.  😉

I’ve tried this too (see pic), but he doesn’t yet get that he can chew on it for relief.  Maybe it’s the awkward shape.

Update: This past week, since I wrote this post, they seem better.  But, I still think they are teething, and I think being prepared now will work out as an advantage in the end. 🙂

Thanks!

K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in 3-6 Months, Milestones, Parenthood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Teething at Four Months?

  1. I could’ve written this post myself. Gus has been so fussy the last week and the drool has been out of control for a few weeks. Now all of a sudden bedtime is a total nightmare. We’re a few days away from the 4th leap too so I don’t know. I can’t offer any help, but know you’re not alone!

  2. I just wrote about this same stuff on my blog!! Tru is 4 mo too. Its awful!! Must be teething and i hadn’t thought of that wonder weeks thing. Probably that too. Its aggravating! Poor babies.

  3. My babes (not twins) both got their first teeth at 4 mths. I used to freeze a wet baby washcloth for them to suck on and they liked it. Also mine both got a lot of comfort from the soother. Good luck. 🙂

  4. Ugh…I’m so sorry your little ones haven’t been feeling 100%! One of my twins cut her first tooth at 5 months, so it’s definitely not too early! Sometimes on the first round of teething it’s really hard to know what’s going on until you actually see those swollen gums or feel the edge of the tooth break through. Then you’ll know what’s normal for your baby and will know when those same symptoms appear later that it is definitely a tooth. Soaked shirts from drool and major crankiness were definite signs for my babies, but I didn’t realize it until after the first tooth. Growth spurts can also cause similar symptoms. Does Tylenol help? Motrin was the best for my girls if the Tylenol didn’t work. I didn’t have much Iuck with the teething tablets but they might be worth a try?

  5. laws2293 says:

    My daughter started showing some of these same things at 3 months. She’s just now getting her first tooth at 6 1/2 months. My cousin’s daughter did have two teeth by 4 months, so it could happen. We use orajel, pediacare, and gripe water to help my daughter. Hope your babies get better soon.

  6. Twin Mom says:

    Four months is not too early to start teething! Sometimes it takes months for those tiny teeth to work their way through. When my boys were teething, they drooled so much we went through tons of bibs every day! They liked to suck on/chew on a cold/frozen washcloth or frozen mini bagels when they were older (watch carefully as it defrosts). There is an essential oil blend called “Thieves” by Young Living (diluted – one drop to a tablespoon of olive oil) that can be rubbed on their gums – – it seems to bring relief and is safer than dosing with Tylenol. Another thing you can try is peppermint essential oil on their feet (diluted with a carrier oil) if they have fever with teething. It’s tough when they are both fussy and just wanting to be held – – days like that you just surrender and know nothing is going to get done 🙂

  7. My twins are 14 weeks and have the same exact symptoms. I thought it was too early to be teething but I think that they might be. I tried those rings that you put in the freezer but they didn’t like them. I tried Colic Calm and that has really helped.

  8. sparrow says:

    Glad they’re feeling a bit better now! I have no idea about teething. M
    ine are eight months and still don’t have teeth, but they’ve been drooling profusely for months. Go figure.

  9. babylute2013 says:

    Teething—hard for mom and hard for babies! I don’t have any thoughts or advice since I’m not there yet, but I hope it goes smoothly!!! Oh, and Winter loves those rings too. She has them on her carseat and she plays with them nonstop in the car. She plays with them at home too…love those rings!

  10. Hi! I’m so happy I’ve found your blog – I’m always looking for fellow twin moms. My boy/girl twins are 7 months old, so I’ll be following your journey! So in regards to teething – all I can say is that my kids have been drooling and SUPER fussy lately…and I still don’t see any white where their teeth will come in. I don’t know what’s going on – a wonder week or what, but it’s rough over here. I think “teething” can go on for many months – even if no teeth come out. They’re just shifting around under their gums. I look forward to your future posts!

  11. Pingback: My love/hate relationship with teeth: Teething, Part II | TwinMomLife: A Parenthood Journey

Thoughts?

