Driving from MA to FL with Twins

Today is day 3 of our journey from MA to FL. Sure, we could have made it in two days, but I’d be locked in a closet or something right now. The babies have done amazing considering being trapped in their car seats ALL day, with an average of 3 stops per day. Today will be easy because we only have another 220150 miles to go.

When doing this drive in the past we have left at around 3am and we drive until dinner, then stay over and finish the drive the second day starting at about 7am or so. This time we left about 6am on a Monday. We were early enough that we beat the rush around Boston, and it put us in NY around 11am. We did sit on the GW bridge for about 30 minutes, but I used that stand still time to fuel up L because he was fussy. We stopped around 6 because the babies were done for the day. Their bedtime is usually between 7 and 8, so we didn’t want to push it. Amazingly, their normal sleep patterns weren’t interrupted.

I posted on day 1 about a few other things related to traveling with twins, here.

The car seat toys I showed in the last post were a necessity for me. Along with: teething toys, favorite toys, and baby music stations on Pandora (Raffi and Brahms Lullaby).

20140305-085723.jpg

20140305-085747.jpg

20140305-085811.jpg

Notice the makeshift headrests I made them? That’s one thing I would suggest. Think about a time you tried to sleep in the car or on a plane and your neck got stiff because you had no neck support. I had a feeling to purchase some, but for whatever reason I didn’t. I saw some Eddie Bauer ones at Target I liked.

Here A&L are at the hotel on night 1:

20140305-090058.jpg
See, still happy.

Day 2 was blah. It was cloudy and even though we reached a point with no snow on the ground, the route becomes just trees and not as many large rest stops for a one stop easy off easy on kind of deal.
Here are A&L on night two:

20140305-090412.jpg
A little more vocal and spunky, but still happy.

I had them travel in pajamas. This wasn’t my original plan, but it was cold when we left so I thought I’d try it. Then they were comfortable so I just had them stay in them. I made sure the pajamas were more on the big size so they’d have room to move their legs comfortably. Today is a short day so they are in regular outfits.

20140305-102124.jpg

20140305-102135.jpg

So much for a easy day. A is screaming. Gotta stop off at the next rest area. I’ll do one more post on moving with the babies, in which I’ll include more about the items I’ve used and some tips.

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in 3-6 Months and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Driving from MA to FL with Twins

  1. wonton87 says:

    They look adorable in theit pjs!

  2. Twin Mom says:

    You’re a warrior!! The babies are adorable!

  3. babylute2013 says:

    INCREDIBLE!! You are so brave with this move. I hope that everything went well. A&L are both cute as can be:)

Thoughts?

