Twin Mom Superpower: Baby Wearing

Yesterday I attended a meeting for a local baby wearing club with a friend and her baby. As I arrived, I debated whether I should bring in my Snap-N-Go or wear one baby while carrying the car seat with the other. It’s always uncomfortable making decisions like this when I’m going somewhere new. After consulting with a woman in the parking lot I decided on the second plan. It was a good call because the room was filled with mommas and babies.
Seeing the baby wearing options reminds me of my lust for the ease of having one baby. I don’t mean that I wish I had one baby. I mean, it stinks that most cool things about parenting don’t work the same when you’re a twin mom. Like baby wearing. My eye is always drawn toward the beautiful rainbow ring slings. I could maybe make one work, putting it on under a soft strap carrier like my Ergo. Is it worth the cost for a maybe? How many times can I really enjoy carrying two babies around? My other option would be the Ergo with a wrap on the front.
For now, this is how we roll.

20140422-101015.jpg

Liam prefers to see what’s going on around us. It distracts him from the pain of teething. Baby Bjorn works best for this. It appears for now that neither like to be carried on the back. Regardless, how many singleton moms would even try back carrying with a 6-7 month old? Yeah, exactly.

How do you baby wear with twins? What’s your favorite way to wear your baby, twin or singleton? As a twin parent, how do you bring both babies somewhere when space is limited?

Peace,

Happy Earth Day!      K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Twin Mom Superpowers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Twin Mom Superpower: Baby Wearing

  1. Steph Mignon says:

    I’m new to the whole baby wearing thing but with a newborn am loving the k’tan. You and your twins r so cute! Bet you get a major workout toting those two around.

    • K, Twin Mom says:

      My friend that went with me has a k’tan for her almost 3 month old. She’s loving it. When A&L were smaller and L was colicky I used the Moby. At the meeting I attended they said for a baby over 15lbs the Moby becomes tricky because the fabric is too stretchy. I might try to use that with the Ergo to see if I can create something for emergencies.

  2. timelessmama says:

    Much braver than I was with my twins. I stuck to the double Mountain Buggy. I have just nominated you for a Reader Award. http://timelessmama.com/2014/04/25/readers-award-thank-you-thank-me/ Happy baby wearing and thanks for following my blog.

  3. Tales of a Twin Mombie says:

    I want to babywear more! I did it much more when they were were smaller. I used the Baby K’Tan. However, as they are growing older and are heavier…this sling does not work. I want to get the Ergo! The price stalls me though! AHH. But it might be worth it! How much do you love yours?! And tell me about the Baby B’Jorn too. I’m open for suggestions!

    • K, Twin Mom says:

      Honestly, I wanted the Ergo based on the pattern. I’m a dork. I love stars and my mom got me the galaxy print one. I wore Amelia at an art festival for about an hour or so. She liked it okay. I tried Li on my back and he was okay for maybe 5 minutes. I like it okay, but I’m not sure how much use I’m going to get from it. I’m hoping once they are bigger they’ll enjoy being carried on the back. The Bjorn is sweet because they can face out. There are people that do not like it because they say it isn’t ergonomic and isn’t designed with baby’s hips in mind. I say if it gives me peace and makes baby happy, I love it. I see they have a newer BjornOne. I’m interested in that but just cannot justify the price seeing as I already have the expensive Ergo.

  4. Tales of a Twin Mombie says:

    I see what the problem was!! For some reason, I must have accidentally unfollowed you!!! No wonder I wasn’t getting the latest posts! Sorry about that, happy to catch up!

Thoughts?

