Twin Mom Superpower: Baby Gyms

On Tuesday a friend and I brought our babies to a baby gym, My Gym. It was a free trial class. If you have one in your area, check it out. I unfortunately cannot afford to become a member, especially with two babies. The registration fee itself is ridiculous. But, they let you try it out for free, so it’s a great outing.

I found the experience to be worth the trial because it gave me some ideas on how to help the babies with increasing their range of motion. A (as in baby A) is slightly behind when it comes to muscle strength and movement. She doesn’t have anything wrong with her per say, maybe some mild torticollis. So going to a baby gym was a fun way to help her tone her muscles.

Having two babies to play with was a little tricky. Especially since the age range for this particular class went to 15 months. One of the coaches assisted me for a majority of the time which was very kind of her. That’s another reason I wouldn’t join. For something like this it’d be easier if the babies were crawling and sitting up on their own. Having two can be tricky sometimes.
Here’s a pic:
.

20140425-164415.jpg

To help A with her muscle tone and neck we brought her to physical therapy. In our opinion, it doesn’t seem to really be that great for the effort of juggling two babies to get there and participate. We will go one more time and make the decision if it’s really needed. T went with me last time.

Has anyone else tried out a baby gym? What are your thoughts on them? Anyone have suggestions for us for helping A at home with muscle tone?

Peace,
K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 7 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turned 3 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Twin Mom Superpowers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Twin Mom Superpower: Baby Gyms

  1. sparrow says:

    I don’t have suggestions, but looks like a fun day! Good for you for making it out there.

  2. I don’t have suggestions either but I’m dying to learn more about what kinds of activities and baby equipment helps with physical development! We could use some of this ourselves.

    • K, Twin Mom says:

      We have been using an exercise ball to have her do belly time on. We roll her side to side, and front to back. I do this with L too because he is almost at the point of sitting on his own and needs to build his abs up for that. I also have them sit on the ball and hold them at their wait as I roll them front to back and side to side. They did that at the gym. I’ll update you all with more after the next PT session on Wed.

  3. Tales of a Twin Mombie says:

    AHH! I’m catching up on your blog!! I’ve missed reading! I haven’t tried a baby gym but would try it out with help! It’s not something I would join permanently because of the financial aspect of the whole thing but I would do it for a free trial too! Why not? The pics are so cute!!

  4. Pingback: Healthy Babies, Health Issues | TwinMomLife: A Parenthood Journey

Thoughts?

