Baby Story Time: Twin Mom Style

I don’t like being stuck inside all day. I have to go out, whether for a walk, a trip to Starbucks, or Target. I try to do things that are fun for the babies too, like story time at the library. I recommend anyone with a baby or toddler check their local library calendar to see if they offer this. If you have one baby, I consider this easy to attend. You could carry the baby in the car seat, a baby carrier, or just in your arms. Once inside, you can have the baby sit in your lap.

Story time gets a little more complicated if you have twins, at least if your twins are not yet at the sitting up on their own stage. I’m going to assume it’ll be tricky until they can walk on their own actually.

Here’s how I manage story time. I bring A&L inside the library using the Double Snap-N-Go. I leave the Elmos in the car and hide the pacifiers in my bag- lol. Once inside I lay out a blanket and put one baby on it. Then I get the other. I have tried a few ways to manage two, and I find having one attached to me in the Bjorn is easiest.  Since it’s story time and there is lots happening, the Bjorn is best because the baby can face outward and kick around or “stand” safely while I am sitting. My hands are then free to pick up the other baby or move them from sitting to crawling position.

The other tricky part about this happens when it’s crowded. I try to get there early to secure a spot and some extra space so I can let one baby chill in front of me on the floor. This week, people squeezed in on both sides of me. Hello, two babies here! I kind of need my space. I’m telling you this because sometimes we get caught up in ourselves and we forget to think about others. Think of this if you are out and there’s a twin mom. She needs more space than you. Sorry to sound snarky, I mean it in an enlightening way. Anyway, one lady had a kid who looked about 4 with her. This was story time for babies. That’s the title of it at least on the calendar. The girl stepped on a baby’s leg at one point. So I had to be on guard watching her so she didn’t step on one of mine. The other woman had a baby at the crawling stage. When the baby crawled away, instead of getting up and bringing her back or going and sitting somewhere in an empty spot to be closer to her, she plops down right in front of me. Baby A even kicked her, that’s how close she was. So now L and I can’t see anything, and I’m worried A is going to get crushed by this woman since she’s half paying attention. Sorry if you are reading this and you’re thinking “Huh, is she talking about me?” I forgive you. You probably had no idea you were causing me stress. Again, I’m sharing this because people get so caught up in their own space and time that they forget that there are others around them. I do this sometimes too. Let’s all try to be more aware of others. Especially other moms.

Back to the purpose of the post…story time is a great opportunity for your baby to meet other babies. I like that A&L get to see other babies that are slightly ahead of them-crawling and walking. It’s good exposure. If you are a twin mom, just take a deep breathe, it’s not so bad. Try to sit near the story time facilitator. That way no one is likely to sit in front of you. 😉

Peace,
K

Here’s A&L bored before the chaos of story time began:

20140501-224525.jpg

150x200_top_mommy_blogs2

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Twin Mom Superpowers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

