Feeding Baby: No Instructions Included

When it comes to babies, there are no instruction manuals.  There are plenty of books out there, but unless you have nothing else to do ever, you’ll never be able to read them all.  Which ones are even the “correct” ones to follow?  Recommendations are usually the best way to go.  On a similar note, why don’t any of my local libraries stock any of the books I want to read? The manual I seek is for feeding babies solid food.  I was previously interested in Baby Led Weaning, but I’ve already started feeding A&L pureed foods.  If you have read that one, please let me know your thoughts on it.

You would think feeding a baby is so easy: grab a bowl, a spoon, a bib, some paper towels, some food (home made or purchased), and plop your darling in the highchair. Well, it’s sort of easy, except somehow it’s stressing me out.  The part getting me is the three day rule, or is it four days?  We have a Baby Bullet and the guide from that says wait four days before starting a new food.  Well, I’ve already broken that rule.  A&L were not interested in squash, so instead of continuing to push it on them for two more days, I switched to the next food.  I just want to mix and match and hop around the food choices.  That’s why Baby Led Weaning was so intriguing to me.  I’ve read some on the Gerber website, to compare what the Baby Bullet people say.  Basically, they differed in the number of days, 3 instead of 4, and some of the food options were different.

How do you feed your baby?  Do you follow the 3 or 4 day rule, or do you do your own thing?  Moms from previous generations, before everything became so structured, what did you do?

20140505-214633.jpg

20140505-214645.jpg

Peace & <3,
K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 7 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turned 3 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in Milestones, Parenthood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Feeding Baby: No Instructions Included

  1. first of all, the twins are so stinkin’ cute. second of all, jackson has tried all sorts of foods, no 3 day wait. we don’t have any food allergies in our families, so I felt pretty good about just diggin in, and some of the pureed food combos out there are awesome!! (there’s a banana pumpkin kind from Plum that is amazing!!) anyway, I also like the whole BLW process, but it takes some planning that pre-made doesn’t. We also have the baby bullet, and used it every once in a while, especially with bananas, avacados, melon… stuff like that. Although, by now I’m giving Jackson big chunks of those foods and letting him play with them/eat them. Also, while they have like zero nutritional value, I started giving him those gerber puffs a couple of weeks ago – he LOVES them, feeds himself, and keeps himself entertained, plus it’s a new texture for him to get accustomed to. Best wishes momma!

    • K, Twin Mom says:

      Thanks! I’m glad to hear that. I get a little nervous because for a few years when I was younger I was randomly allergic to tomatoes and tomato sauce, but not ketchup, and peanuts but not peanut butter. It was really weird. I grew out of it though. It was what I’d call mild, I’d just get hives and itchy.

      I was wondering about just giving them pieces of banana, and avocado. It’s so soft I don’t see it being a problem. I think we will try that soon. 🙂

  2. I heard 3 days, so that’s what I stuck to. I had visions of making tons of stuff from scratch, but man those little Berber containers are easy. I started with one of each fruit/veggie before investing a ton of time on homemade only to discover he wouldn’t eat something, and now were hooked. Some of the Plum and HappyBaby pouch combos look good too, so I think those will be next (even though we haven’t tried all the components yet)

    • *Gerber, not Berber, haha.

    • K, Twin Mom says:

      I need to pick some of them up for when I’m out. Much easier than worrying about the home made stuff going bad or whatever.

      I’ve been enjoying making them stuff. But, yeah, I’ve wasted a few containers. They really didn’t like sweet potato so I chucked those. I had froze them, but then I defrosted them and I felt they tasted worse after defrosting.

      • The only things I’m making at home are avocado, banana, and hard boiled egg yolks — basically whatever I can just mash up without cooking. Does that count as “making it?” Well, I’m counting it, haha.

        Have you tried yogurt yet? Gus has issues with Dairy but I was thinking of trying some coconut milk yogurt next month.

      • K, Twin Mom says:

        I haven’t tried anything cool yet. We’ve done sweet potato, apples, peas, banana, avocado, zucchini, pears, squash, carrots, and green beans-in that order.
        We have this cool hand masher for soft foods. Of course that counts as making them! 🙂 If it’s not right out of a package, then it counts. The masher says “Annabel Karmel” on the side. Maybe that’s the brand? Anyway, it’s awesome.

  3. I did the 3 day rule. It takes forever! Now that he’s tried a ton of stuff, i only wait a couple days and sometimes I do try 2 new foods in one day. My mom never did those rules.

    On another note, I read that it can take up to 15 times before a baby will accept a new food, so if they don’t like something now, you can always try in a few weeks. Tru used to gag on sweet potatoes but now he loves them.

    I’m trying not to give him a sippy cup yet except once or twice a week so that he will rely on me for his fluids and we will hopefully breastfeed longer. I think he would ween now if he had the option! 😦

  4. timelessmama says:

    I’m with journeyformybaby. You can try again in a few weeks. Here in Australia I tried sweet potato first and I know that didn’t work for you but I think they might be different vegetables. When we lived in San Francisco they called Australian sweet potatoes yams. In NZ there is an indigenous potato called Kumara which is a sweet white potato. If you have a version of that it might work. I used Annabel Karmels baby food book. I think she is English. Good luck.

  5. They are adorable! We didn’t hear about BLW until after we had started pureed solids, but gave it a go after that. We had good luck with a mix of the two. A big benefit to feeding twins is that often one of mine will really like a veggie that the other doesn’t (and vice versa), and it forces me to keep cooking them anyway and to keep presenting them to both babies. Vegetables that were all out refused for the first 15 tastings suddenly become big favorites with the other twin. I don’t think I would have given it that much effort if I just had one baby to feed. I’d probably say “well, he/she isn’t really crazy about that, we’ll try it later” and move on.

    We did the 4 day rule with foods that seemed more likely to be allergens – dairy, egg, nut, wheat, etc. We didn’t really worry about it with veggies/fruits. (Relatedly, our pediatrician urged us to introduce to nut products early as they’re now learning that early exposure helps reduce the chance of allergies. Boy oh boy did I hold my breath on that meal!)

  6. Theresa says:

    I didn’t wait. We don’t have a family history of allergies so I fed the same food for a day or two and moved on. The baby bullet came in handy for us for a few months because I could puree a couple weeks worth and store them in the freezer. And it is true that it takes about 15 tastes before you can REALLY say you don’t like a food.
    We started out with puree at one meal a day. After 10-14 I added a second and then a third another 10-14 days later (you don’t have to wait 10-14 days, thats just what I chose)

    • K, Twin Mom says:

      Thanks! We don’t want picky eaters and we love eating a variety of foods, so I will definitely keep going back to a food even if they don’t like it. The second time I tried sweet potato they seemed to like it a little better. 🙂

  7. We try 2 days only because my husband (who is a paramedic) says that if your baby is allergic to a food there won’t be signs they are allergic until the second time they eat it. Once I know they’re not allergic I like to mix things up like one night do squash and sweet potatoes and the next day do avo and apple and just try and keep it fun and interesting. Mine don’t like avo but if I mix it with apple they will eat it. Have fun and be creative!

    • K, Twin Mom says:

      Thank you for that information. I am going to try that combo-avocado and apple. Sounds fun! I tried squash with green beans tonight. It went over with A but not L. She seems to love the veggies and he loves the fruits.

  8. Your post comes at a perfect time for me because I am struggling with transitioning to finger foods from purees. I was intrigued by BLW as well but completely chickened out because of choking. I know they probably wouldn’t choke anyway but I’m paranoid and I just couldn’t do it. I’m glad though, because both my twins loved purees. I did the 3 day rule and still do – today in fact they had butter beans pureed for the first time, and one of my twins had some yucky spit up later in the morning that I think is from that. So I will try again tomorrow and the next day before doing something new. My issue is now going to finger foods – like you mentioned in the comments, I am doing banana and avocado pieces, and white or sweet potato as well. It’s mushy, no issues. The only problem is they won’t feed themselves! They aren’t eating from their hands, only off mine….so not sure what to do about that one.

    And I also second what someone said about multiple exposures before they like something – when I introduced pureed lentils my daughter gagged and was totally grossed out by them. But I kept at it for about a week and now she loves them, no issues.

    Finally, I also mix all their purees together because I just plop out three ice cubes of food into a dish and stir. So feel free to mix it all together as well.

    • K, Twin Mom says:

      The choking is what worries me too. I’ll chicken out and wait awhile until I give them pieces of anything.
      I’m not sure how to get them to feed themselves. What do they do if you just put the food on the tray and sit with them? Do they cry? Maybe smoosh the food? Lol

  9. sparrow says:

    I waited a few days at first, but then after a while started just letting them try what I was eating, which always had more than one new ingredient. I think like other people said, if you have allergies in your family to wait after you give those things so you know. They are getting so big! And as always, adorable 🙂 Food is pretty fun.

Thoughts?

