My love/hate relationship with teeth: Teething, Part II

Teeth.  They can make a smile beautiful.  With teeth you can enjoy many amazing foods.  My teeth have always been fairly straight.  In middle school I felt like the only kid without braces.  Imagine wishing braces upon yourself?! Now I know how fortunate I was am.  I hope A&L never need braces either.

Showing our teethy smiles at Starbucks.

Showing our teethy smiles at Starbucks.

L has two teeth now at 8 months.  He got them in March at 6 months, one right after the other within a week’s time. I discovered he had a tooth when we took this family selfie:

Right here is when he bit me lol

Right here is when he bit me lol

My post at 4 months expressed my cluelessness about teething.  L’s drooling began to lessen at around 5 months, before his teeth came in actually.  I hardly ever have a bib on him now, only when he is eating solid foods.  The fussiness comes and goes.  For two months now I’ve been thinking the next two teeth were right there, ready to pop through at any moment.  The pain worsens when I put him down for bed.  Sometimes I’ll give him a frozen teether and I’ll pick it up when he falls asleep.  Other times Tylenol is the only option.  I’ve had people suggest oils, but I haven’t explored it any.  Shortly after L’s teeth came in, I got A&L both Amber teething necklaces.

First thoughts on the necklaces

First thoughts on the necklaces

They really helped, at first.  Lately though it seems as though only frozen things soothe the pain.  I have them wear the necklaces during the day, and I take them off at night so their necks can breathe. I do think without the necklaces things are worse, so I keep using them.

A is such a chill baby.  She’s only had a few instances where she expressed serious pain and we gave her Tylenol.  She is still in the drool phase though.  She goes through about 4 bibs a day and 2-3 outfits.  She also enjoys the frozen teethers.

Here are the toys that we have found success with:

 

Elmo_Fotor_Collage

Elmo teething toy, a necessity!

Teething in action.  Another favorite: the Razbaby Razberry Teether.

Teething in action. Another favorite: the Razbaby Razberry Teether. The Sassy Terry Teethers were helpful in the beginning.

I have found that the frozen teethers filled with water work better than the gel ones.  The gels ones do not stay cold very long at all.  The water ones do.  I’d suggest gel for beginning teethers, and water for babies cutting teeth.

My advice is to be prepared.  Research toys, necklaces, and/or oils now.  Word of mouth is always best.  That’s how I found a few of A&L’s favorite items.  The toughest part for us is the fussiness that cannot be soothed.  I find that if they are distracted, they are less fussy.  As soon as I sense teething fussiness, I grab the teething toy stash.  Good luck!

Have you gone through teething with your littles yet?  What are some things you found to be successful during the teething phase?

Update: I found this site with LOTS of helpful teething tips! I’m about to try essential oils: lavender, thieves, and peace&calm blend. I’ll give an update in a few weeks.

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 7 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turned 3 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in 6-12 months, Milestones and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My love/hate relationship with teeth: Teething, Part II

  1. This is a great post. I will have to remember to read this again once we get teething under way for real. I keep thinking Tru is teething and even the pediatrician has told me he was going to get his teeth any time now but 7 and half months and still nothing. Which is ok with me really because he bites while nursing a LOT and I imagine it hurts worse with teeth. 😉

  2. tbb403 says:

    Nice post mommy. 🙂

  3. Oh teething can be so hard! My girls were really crabby teethers, and it always messed with their sleeping. Motrin was our best friend when it was bad. I never had much luck with Tylenol or the teething tablets, and I didn’t try the necklaces. My girls ate lots of frozen fruit (especially bananas) in those little mesh pouches made by Munchkin that you can stuff with foods which are too crunchy or large for little ones so they can gum away at them and get the flavor and the pain relief on their little sore gums. The frozen banana “juice” was pretty messy, though, so I’d suggest a bib! I’ll post a link to the mesh pouches if you haven’t seen them. 🙂

  4. Bookmarked! We still have a month or so to prep.. Thanks for posting this 🙂

  5. We’re still in the super drooly stage at 7 months. I keep thinking any day now, but nothing!

  6. I’m not much help but just want to offer my experience – I guess I’m very lucky. My 10 month twins were very late teethers (which I hear makes a difference in their pain tolerance?). My son got his first at 8 months and my daughter at 10 months. She is breaking her second now while my son has 7. For both of them, once one came, they all seem to come. And for whatever reason, neither of them has had much by way of symptoms. They both were a little fussy from time to time, and we also used those mesh feeders on occasion. But that was it – some drool months ago but that was way before they came in. No fever, no crying in pain, no need for teething toys. So I guess you just never know – but as you are, it’s so good to be prepared just in case!

  7. Tales of a Twin Mombie says:

    Great post! We have purchased so many darn teething things and they prefer their hands or the most random things!! What the heck!!

  8. Your son has a huge smile in the first photo….so handsome and happy!

Thoughts?

