Teething Pains, Part III

We have more teeth in the TwinMomLife household. A’s two bottom front teeth are cutting through as of today.

She was very fussy at story time, so when we left I gave her a teething tablet and sure enough I felt two teeth. Two more tablets later and she was sleeping soundly.

20140603-131354-47634603.jpg

There are two types of tablets available in our Target store. One is the Hyland brand, the other Orajel brand. I’ve had numerous older relatives give me the advice to use Orajel, but since I’ve read it isn’t a good idea in today’s day I haven’t. So, I figure the brand is trusted, and these tabs are all natural. Win-win. Oh, we also picked The Orajel tabs over Hyland because the Orajel advertises as belladonna free. I didn’t know anything about belladonna, but if one is excluding it I figured there was a reason. While Googling it at Target I found it was associated with opiates. No thanks. Today I found this article which talks about Hyland brand being recalled in 2010.

20140603-163934-59974151.jpg

Funny story, I just had T go get the Hyland ones before I found that article. For extreme teething emergencies I will try them. L is still so fussy. That’s another post though. I think his fussiness is mostly due to teething pain. The Orajel tablets work for us, but I have to keep using them. I guess that’s better than using Tylenol all the time though.

We’ve been trying essential oils as I mentioned in my last post on teething. They are definitely helping with sleeping-falling asleep and reducing night wakings. I’ve been using Young Living Peace and Calming mixed with coconut oil on their feet, and YL lavender mixed with coconut oil on their jaw (outside, lower cheek). I borrowed them from a friend so I can test them out. I diffuse lavender as well in their bedroom about 30 minutes before bedtime. I just use my Vicks plug in diffuser with unscented diffuser pads from the natural store (Native Sun), and 5-10 drops of lavender on the pad. I use Aura Cacia brand for diffusing because it’s cheaper. I unplug it before I go to bed because those things can get very hot and I tend to worry. I’ve also diffused Thieves blend, and put it on their feet. The great thing about oils is that they smell good, so even if they don’t work, your baby and house will smell lovely. The negative is that they are pricey. I’ll purchase some Peace and Calming, Lavender, and Thieves from YL through my friend and go from there with the oil thing.

Do you use essential oils for teething? If so, please share which and how you use them. Do you use teething tablets? If so, which brand? As always, I’d love to hear what’s working for you when it comes to teething.

Peace,
K

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 7 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turned 3 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in 6-12 months, Milestones and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Teething Pains, Part III

  1. mommatiff29 says:

    I use lavender for my little girl who is 7 months for teething and soothing fussiness. We have an amber necklace for natural anti inflammatory. And Hyland’s teething tablets. I am not a fan of orajel.

    • K, Twin Mom says:

      Do you use the lavender on her feet, or her face, or diffused? Do you find the Hylands tabs work pretty well right away?

      • mommatiff29 says:

        I use it on her feet and along the jaw line. I do feel like it works fairly fast. Tried one myself first to see what it was like before I gave it to her and part of my tongue went numb. She seems to be relieved once they kick in after a few seconds.

      • K, Twin Mom says:

        I’m glad you tried it, lol, I probably should have too. I did lick my finger to taste it once (the Orajel ones). That’s good info about the tongue numbing. Placement under the tongue near the gums is key then. Thanks!

      • mommatiff29 says:

        You’re welcome!

    • K, Twin Mom says:

      Hey again, which brand of oils do you use?

      • mommatiff29 says:

        DoTerra. Fairly inexpensive and highly concentrated! Be sure to get coconut oil as the base with essential oil

  2. I didn’t even know teething tablets existed!!! That is so much cooler than Tylenol. I also had read about the oragel and decided not to use it. Thanks for writing this!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • K, Twin Mom says:

      No problem ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad I could help. I have been using the Hyland ones now when it’s really bad. But I’m finding they both work about the same for A&L.

      • I can’t remember if I replied to this comment already but literally 5 minutes after I read your blog, I got Tru up from his nap and there was his first tooth! lol. So, I think he is getting another one in now because last night we had a rough night. He kept waking up and crying this devastating little cry like he was in pain. I picked him up and put him our bed but he just kept wimpering. so I had to give him Tylenol again. I will be looking for the teething tablets the next time I am at the store!!

Thoughts?

