Healthy Babies, Health Issues

Warning: This post mentions POOP a lot.

A&L are 10 months now.  Their personalities shine through daily.  They are sweet as ever when happy, and exhausting when sick or upset.  We’ve had a whirlwind of a month in the health category.  It all began at their 9 month appointment.

10 months A&L

Baby A

A 10 months

A’s head measured at 19 inches at the 9 month appointment.  When we got home and entered this into our Baby Connect app, I realized that was a 2 inch jump from her previous appointment at 6 months.  The nurse realized this after we left and called to have me schedule a head ultrasound.  The results from the u/s showed benign fluid on the brain.  The DR drops this information on us after telling us the results were normal.  Brain abnormalities, however benign, scare me more than anything, even snakes.  My gram passed away suddenly in 2007 from a brain aneurysm at 65.  My brother-in-law has a severe TBI from a car accident in 2012.  I know a lot about the brain, sometimes more than a few DRs out there.  The DR said benign fluid usually means hydrocephalus, but she does not feel A has this because she has good motor skills and is fairly mobile.  I’m going to pause here to tell you I don’t have full faith in our DR office.  A has had delays in her skills, for example, she still won’t roll over.  She can now sit up on her own and walks around the house in a baby walker, but other than that, she isn’t very mobile.  Remember we went to physical therapy before because we kept trying to get DRs to notice she was delayed?  Yeah, me too.  She really has made great progress over the past few months, but this hydrocephalus could explain her delay in becoming mobile.  We made a follow up appointment with a neurologist, but of course we cannot get in to see them until the 14th of August.  So, we continue to play the waiting game.  Please say a prayer for my baby that she doesn’t have anything seriously wrong that will impact her long term.  Those of you that have followed me for awhile, and those that know me in the real world know that I’ve wanted these babies for a long time.  We had to look to science to help us conceive, via IVF.

A using her ab muscles, nice!

A using her ab muscles, nice!

Nothing to see here!

Nothing to see here!

Baby L

L 10 months

At the 9 month appointment, the nurse practitioner thought she heard a murmur, so she referred us to a cardiologist.  L does in fact have a murmur, a Still’s murmur, which is common in toddlers.  His hemoglobin was lower than average at the 9 month appointment, which could be causing the murmur.  The cardiologist advised we continue to give him iron supplement, and just continue monitoring with our pedi, since the EKG showed everything with his heart to be just fine.  That was a huge relief!

Remember way back when, I thought L had colic?  A little about that can be read hereWell, about a month ago he began not wanting to go into his crib at bedtime, and even when in our bed he would wake crying and toss and turn all night.  During the day he would be very needy.  Twin moms know, there isn’t much time for constant fussiness when you have two at the same developmental stage.  We sort of have this under control now, but just barely.  Around two weeks ago, we went to the pedi because he was so upset one night, even while sleeping in our bed, that we thought we’d need to go to the hospital.  We called the nurse and she gave us some tips because it seemed like he was constipated.  We began using Colic Calm as needed, Hyland’s Colic Tabs, powdered probiotics, increased our prune consumption, and we even had to give him a suppository laxative.  He began pooping again-yeay! But his neediness continued, along with his sleeplessness.  Well, last week he suddenly has blood in his stool. Oh great!  The next diaper was even worse, so I immediately call the pedi and bring him in to be seen.  The NP wasn’t clear about what it could be, she thought bacteria but then she didn’t think it could be blood.  Again, see my frustration with this place?  This was on Thursday.  They took his diaper to send for testing.  We get a call yesterday am-Monday!-telling us it tested positive for c dif.  I ask her what could be the cause of this bacteria spread only by POOP or typically from taking antibiotics.  She isn’t clear, again.  I do some research myself and I am assuming one of these things happened: he rubbed his hand on the toilet while in his walker and then chewed on his hand at some point, which would mean someone who used my toilet has c dif-unlikely; a kid at story time touched it’s own poop and then played with the toys, then L chewed on the toys, and bam-infected.  I honestly have no idea.  I’m annoyed by it for sure.  I’d love to hear from anyone that has had experience with a baby having c dif.  Having a twin with c dif is awesome (sarcasm), because T & I had to sanitize everything just in case and I have to be super Mrs. Clean when I change him poop diaper, etc.  Of course, right before the NP called to tell us he had this, he had had a blow out-ON THE CARPET!  Ah, that was fun to go back and clean three more times, just in case.

Look what I can do now!

Look what I can do now!

So, that’s been my month.  Thankfully the Ergo has come to the rescue in the sleep department.  I rock L in it before bed and within 30 minutes he’s settled and can be put into his crib.

Babywearing for the win, again!

Babywearing for the win, again!

Thanks for stopping by!

Sorry for the long absence to those of you probably worried about me! 🙂

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 7 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turned 3 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in 6-12 months, Twin Mom Superpowers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Healthy Babies, Health Issues

  1. All of those things are terrifying! I’m glad the murmur isn’t too concerning, and I hope whatever is going on with A’s fluid is resolved quickly. Heart things and brain things scare me more than anything, you poor thing!

  2. Wow!! You guys have had a lot going on recently! I hope you get all the answers you need for A. I think their Dr doesn’t really sound very proactive or on top of things. 😦 I hope that the c-dif clears up quickly and that no one else catches it.

  3. Steph Mignon says:

    Stressful! I am constantly worried about my ONE baby who is almost 4-months old (she’s SO skinny, is she eating enough? Ahhh!) I can’t imagine having double the worries at the same time. ANYTHING health related, but especially the brain stuff totally stresses me out too. And I agree that your doc’s office sounds a tad too casual. I mean, blood in the stool! C’mon people let’s take this more seriously! Regardless, I send you positive vibes and prayers as you get his all sorted out.

  4. Theresa says:

    oy! Man I hope all is better in the health department from now on! (And maybe you should go pedi shopping? Supportive docs are a must!)

  5. Twin Mom says:

    You are your babies best advocate, and I’m glad you trusted your instincts and persevered! It’s tough to have two babies needing extra attention at the same time – – hang in there! Don’t be afraid to look for a new doctor. We went through 2 different pediatricians until we settled on one we really liked. When the boys were six, she moved and we were so sad 😦 Thankfully, we were past the stage where they could not communicate and it all worked out.

  6. Hey girl! Been wondering how you and the babies are doing. I hope they are doing much better now. 🙂

    • K, Twin Mom says:

      Yes better! Except the one year shots were a doozy and they are still crabby! 😦 I hope to update soon. I went back to work this year teaching. It’s so busy. More so than I anticipated. Thanks for checking in! 🙂

      • Wow! Yeah I bet you are busy working and raising twin toddlers! I look forward to reading your update whenever you get a chance. I hope the babies continue to do well. 🙂

Thoughts?

