Not Again: Dealing with Endometriosis

This post discusses female issues, specifically endometriosis.

It’s amazing what we can get used to given enough time. My body has been giving me problems since the beginning of my “womanhood”. I learned to expect painful periods of time where I’d become reserved, withdrawn, and annoyed by everything. I learned to always have pain medication on hand, and that I should just carry it on me, just in case.

I have severe endometriosis. I’ve always had the symptoms, from the beginning, but so many doctors are not in the know when it comes to this disease. Once I was convinced I had this condition, it took knowing I had the SAME cyst for 2 years, and four doctors later to diagnose me. What is irritating is that my current doctor knew immediately after consulting with me that I likely had it, yet the other doctors told me over and over that cysts were a normal part of a woman’s cycle and that it just couldn’t be the same cyst. If you’ve read my story on here, you know I have stage IV endo, and that one ovary was basically attached to my leg somehow. GROSS. Our only choice to conceive was through IVF. Our twins are now three! Time sure does fly as the saying so annoying goes. 😉

Thankfully more doctors are beginning to know about this condition, but still too many do not. I have a friend who had a doctor tell her endometriosis is a lifestyle issue. Yeah, okay buddy. It’s frustrating too that those of us with it are told to manage it with pain medication, and when it gets bad enough to have a laparoscopy done (again) to remove some of the scar tissue causing the pain. At least in the western hemisphere that’s protocol.

I’ve read an amazing book Endometriosis: A Key to Healing Through Nutrition which led me to be to gluten free for awhile, which greatly reduced my symptoms. When I do reduce my gluten intake I see my symptoms reduced. I’m very interested in hearing what others with the disease do for pain management, mostly approaches other than surgery or pain medication.

I’m beginning to see my symptoms increase lately.   I find that when I stay active and maintain good nutrition I have less pain, or maybe it’s just more manageable. I’m a teacher though and the school year tends to be filled with non-stop business leading to a reduction in my fitness and me slacking on my nutrition piece. What sparked this post is the lower back pain I’m getting that travels through my leg. It’s on my evil ovary side, so I pray it isn’t my ovary attached again. That’s what caused the same discomfort in 2012, my last laparoscopy.

Peace & Love,

KB

About KB, Twin Mom

T&K--this year we celebrate 8 years of marriage. It took three years of ttc (trying to conceive), but we are now the proud parents to A&L, our g/b twins. A&L turn 4 this fall! Journey to Parenthood (now known as Twin Mom Life) was started to share our story and track our (in)fertility journey as we moved towards parenthood. Now the blog is about life as a twin mom, dealing with endometriosis, my healthy living journey, and life in general.
This entry was posted in endometriosis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

